Warpaint - Heads Up (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Heads Up is the third studio album by the American indie rock band Warpaint. It was released on September 23, 2016 on Rough Trade Recods. Heads Up was produced by Warpaint and Jake Bercovici (The Voidz), who had previously worked with the band on their debut EP, Exquisite Corpse (2008). The album was preceded by the single "New Song". Heads Up is "an eclectic collection" influenced stylistically by Bjork, Janet Jackson, Kendrick Lamar and Outkast. Warpaint included a track titled "Biggy", a reference to the Notorious B.I.G. Crack considered three of the album's tracks ("New Song", "So Good" and "Dre") as alternative pop 'potentials', which are "a reflection of the times … dealing in moody atmospherics and left-of-center reworkings of mainstream trends".

LP pressing on 2xLP gatefold 180-gram vinyl.


I guess I'll never be able to understand how and why people end up uprating and downrating albums anymore, because I absolutely feel this music. I have to admit that I had my doubts first and was kind of afraid that Warpaint eventually would end up being a jam band with pretty vocals, but I just feel that this is another step forward, into a more upbeat, more eclectic direction. The rhythm section is cooler and tighter than ever, there are some synths, some psychedelia, some jamming, r&b, trip-hop and the songs themselves also feel more polished and ambitious. While going into new directions, they girls still could keep the essence of their music. It's dreamy, beautiful, groovy, sexy and sassy, it basically makes me want to stay up all night at home and dance.

By: daysight.

A1 Whiteout
A2 By Your Side
A3 New Song
B1 The Stall
B2 So Good
C1 Don't Wanna
C2 Don't Let Go
C3 Dre
D1 Heads Up
D2 Above Control
D3 Today Dear

Catalogue Number: RTRADLP780

Record Label: Rough Trade Records.