Various Artists - Heat - Music from the Motion Picture Soundtrack (Blue Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €38,00
Tax included.

Heat is the soundtrack album to the 1995 film Heat. The score is compiled mostly with Elliot Goldenthal's orchestrations although there are a variety of other artists featured including U2/Brian Eno project Passengers, Lisa Gerrard, Moby and Terje Rypdal.

The track "New Dawn Fades" is only a part of the original song, and which fades into the next track. The track "God Moving Over the Face of the Waters" is slightly different from the version used in the film, the version on the score is from Moby's album Everything Is Wrong and the version in the film appears later on his 1997 album I Like to Score; Goldenthal composed and arranged the Kronos Quartet performed pieces. The Einstürzende Neubauten track "Armenia" was taken from their 1983 album Zeichnungen des Patienten O. T. and was used by Michael Mann again in his 1999 film The Insider.

Goldenthal composed a cue called "Hand in Hand" originally meant to be played over the end scene, but it was replaced by Moby's "God Moving Over the Face of the Waters", so he used it, replacing guitars with bagpipes, instead for the end titles to Michael Collins. A clip of the track as it was meant to be heard in Heat can be heard below. There is also an "extended version" of the score in bootleg form, with several tracks (including "Hand in Hand") which can be heard in the film but are not on the score released, available on the internet.

Various tracks that were in some points of the film but did not make it to the soundtrack included pieces by William Orbit from his Strange Cargo albums, namely "The Last Lagoon," "Monkey King," and "The Mighty Limpopo."

Goldenthal explained his thinking behind the score:

In Heat, Michael Mann and I were going for an atmospheric situation. It was the first time I used what I like to call a "guitar orchestra" - where I use six or eight guitars, all playing with different tunings stacked up on top of each other in a musical way, and a mixed meter of percussion. It wasn't a type of score where you needed a big orchestral theme or you had to actually hit certain actions with music at specific times. It was much closer to the European mentality of film scoring.

The guitar orchestra, who play most significantly on two of the tracks below, is called "Deaf Elk" (an ensemble which includes Page Hamilton of the metal band Helmet) who also worked with Goldenthal for his scores, In Dreams and Titus.

The song "Always Forever Now" was written and performed by U2 and Brian Eno under the alias Passengers, and appears on Original Soundtracks 1. But the version featured on this soundtrack, and quite prominently in the film, is a longer mix with some minor variations.



N/A - Brand New Release

A1 –Kronos Quartet Heat 7:41

A2 –Passengers Always Forever Now
Arranged By [Strings] – Paul Barrett
Engineer – Danton Supple
Engineer [Assisted By] – Rob Kirwan
Music By – Passengers
Sequencer – Des Broadbery

A3 –Elliot Goldenthal Condensers 2:35

A4 –Kronos Quartet Refinery Surveillance 1:45

A5 –Terje Rypdal & The Chasers Last Nite
Bass – Bjørn Kjellemyr
Drums – Audun Kleive
Guitar, Keyboards – Terje Rypdal
Producer – Manfred Eicher
Written-By – Terje Rypdal

B1 –Michael Brook Ultramarine
Written-By, Producer – Michael Brook

B2 –Einsturzende Neubauten* Armenia
Written-By, Producer – Einsturzende Neubauten*

B3 –Elliot Goldenthal Of Helplessness 2:39

B4 –Elliot Goldenthal Steel Cello Lament 1:43

B5 –Terje Rypdal Mystery Man
Bass – Bjørn Kjellemyr
Drums – Audun Kleive
Guitar – Terje Rypdal
Keyboards – Allan Dangerfield
Producer – Manfred Eicher
Written-By – Terje Rypdal

C1 –Moby New Dawn Fades
Producer – Moby
Written-By – Joy Division

C2 –Elliot Goldenthal Entrada & Shootout 1:49

C3 –Brian Eno Force Marker
Written-By, Producer, Performer – Brian Eno

C4 –Elliot Goldenthal Coffee Shop 1:38

C5 –Elliot Goldenthal Fate Scrapes 1:34

C6 –Lisa Gerrard La Bas (Edited Version)
Written-By, Producer – Lisa Gerrard

D1 –Lisa Gerrard Gloradin
Written-By, Producer – Lisa Gerrard

D2 –Elliot Goldenthal Run UpHill 2:51

D3 –Kronos Quartet Predator Diorama 2:40

D4 –Elliot Goldenthal Of Separation 2:21

D5 –Moby God Moving Over The Face Of The Waters
Producer – Moby
Written-By – Richard Hall*

Advisor [Sound] – Tim Carr (4)
Composed By [Score] – Elliot Goldenthal (tracks: A1, A3, A4, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2 to D4)
Conductor – Jonathan Sheffer (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4), Stephen Mercurio* (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4)
Contractor [Orchestra Contracted By] – Debbie Datz-Pyle*, Patry Zimmitti*
Edited By – Bill Abbott (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4), Christopher Brooks (2) (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4), Michael Connell (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4)
Engineer [Assistant] – Andy Warwick (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4)
Executive-Producer [Executive Album Producer] – Michael Mann
Management [Executive In Charge Of Music For Warner Bros.] – Gary LeMel
Mastered By [Future Disc] – Tom Baker (3)
Mastered By [Sony Music] – Vlado Meller
Orchestrated By – Elliot Goldenthal (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4), Robert Elhai (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4)
Photography By – Frank Connor
Producer [Electronic Music] – Richard Martinez (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4)
Producer [Music Score] – Matthias Gohl (tracks: A3, B3, B4, CA1, A3, A4, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2 to D4)
Recorded By, Mixed By – Joel Iwataki (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4), Steve McLaughlin* (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4)
Supervised By [Assistant Music Supervisor] – Amy Dunn
Supervised By [Music Supervisor] – Budd Carr
Vocals – Elliot Goldenthal (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C4, C5, D2, D4)