Various Artists - Blue Note Re:imagined (2xLP Vinyl Compilation)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €37,00
Tax included.

Blue Note Re:imagined returns in 2022 with a new compilation featuring fresh takes on music from the illustrious Blue Note Records vaults recorded by a heavyweight line-up of the UK jazz, soul, and R&B scene’s most hotly-tipped rising stars. Arriving off the back of the widespread international success of the first volume, which topped jazz charts around the globe, Blue Note Re:imagined II once again infuses the spirit of the new UK jazz generation into the legendary label’s iconic catalog, balancing the genre’s tradition with its future and reflecting the melting pot of talent and diversity within the current scene.

Brand new to the shop on a 2xLP 180g heavyweight vinyl release from Universal Music


Jazz players frequently hold hands across the generations. This 16-track compilation finds today’s youthful, often London-based renaissance in dialogue with the revered New York label’s deep back catalogue. That conversation is both learned – these are strong players – and chatty. Respect for key texts by genre greats plays off against the hybrid vigour of the remix.

Varying moods and approaches make this reimagination a rollercoaster ride, but mostly in a good way. R&B singer Jorja Smith kicks off with a mere 20-year-old stripling, St Germain’s sampledelic Rose Rouge (2000), Smith emoting silkily up top, the band controversially taking the original’s fraught BPMs right down.

But the meat of this compilation finds scene leaders like sax players Shabaka Hutchings and Nubya Garcia flexing eloquently over Bobby Hutcherson’s fusion cut Prints Tie, and Blue Note stalwart Joe Henderson’s outing A Shade of Jade, respectively. The trip-hop feel and commitment to beauty that Ishmael Ensemble add to the late McCoy Tyner’s Search for Peace elevates the middle of the tracklisting. The idiosyncratic Melt Yourself Down, meanwhile, were never going to transcribe Joe Henderson’s Caribbean Fire Dance note for note; instead, they rev up the track’s rave and fire.

By: KittyEmprie.

A1 Jorja Smith– Rose Rouge 5:58
A2 Ezra Collective– Footprints 6:20
A3 Poppy Ajudha– Watermelon Man (Under The Sun) 4:31
A4 Jordan Rakei– Wind Parade 4:49
B1 Skinny Pelembe– Illusion (Silly Apparition) 4:12
B2 Alfa Mist– Galaxy 9:12
B3 Ishmael Ensemble– Search For Peace 4:21
C1 Nubya Garcia– A Shade Of Jade 6:48
C2 Steam Down Featuring Afronaut Zu– Etcetera 4:38
C3 Blue Lab Beats– Montara 5:50
C4 Yazmin Lacey– I'll Never Stop Loving You 4:56
D1 Fieh– Armageddon 3:28
D2 Mr Jukes– Maiden Voyage 4:13
D3 Shabaka Hutchings– Prints Tie 6:40
D4 Melt Yourself Down– Carbibean Fire Dance 3:14
D5 Emma-Jean Thackray– Speak No Evil / Night Dreamer 5:00

Label: UMC – 890927
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation