Thin Lizzy - Nightlife (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Thin Lizzy were a brilliant rock band formed in Dublin, Ireland, in 1969. Two of the founding members, drummer Brian Downey and bass guitarist and lead vocalist Phil Lynott, met while still in school. Lynott led the group throughout their recording career of twelve studio albums, writing most of the material. The singles “Whiskey In The Jar” (a traditional Irish ballad) & “The Boys Are Back In Town” were international hits. After Lynott's death in 1986, various incarnations of the band emerged over the years based initially around guitarists Scott Gorham and John Sykes, though Sykes left the band in 2009. Gorham later continued with a new line-up including Downey. Lynott, Thin Lizzy's de facto leader, was composer or co-composer of almost all of the band's songs, and the first black Irishman to achieve commercial success in the field of rock music (or to play at Wembley!)

Nightlife is their fourth studio album, released in 1974. It was produced by Ron Nevison and bandleader Lynott and was the first album to feature the band as a quartet with newcomers Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson on guitars. Some reissue CDs, and occasionally other sources, spell the album title as Night Life, the same as the song title. However the original album title is Nightlife. The song "Philomena" was written for Lynott's mother.
The album cover, designed by Jim Fitzpatrick,, shows a panther-like creature in a city scene. The panther is often thought to be intended to represent Lynott, but Fitzpatrick has confirmed that the panther referred to the Black Panthers and African-American political figures like Malcolm X and Martin Luther King Jr.


*Thin Lizzy used to eat in the Roma whenever they played in Dundalk back in their early days. Fish n Chips everytime. 


The last album of Lizzy's weird, pre-heavy history, Nightlife introduces the classic Gorham/Robertson/Downey lineup while nevertheless offering an apples 'n' oranges collection of cuts that try on various genres for size. Crystal ball clues arrive in the form of the ripping "Sha-La-La," and tough "It's Only Money," while "Still in Love With You" is a great mellow blues ballad featuring a guest shot from future Lizzy temp Gary Moore, and "She Knows" is an irresistible, bright melodic rocker. Among the oddities lost to the sands of time are the lilting soft rock ballad "Dear Heart," string-laden R&B softie "Nightlife," cool funk softie "Showdown," and Celtic-flavored "Philomena." While Nightlife never really makes it out of first gear, it's still a testament to Lynott's talent as a songwriter that as one of their more unremarkable collections, it's a solid listen.

By: Bnicast.

A1 She Knows
A2 Night Life
A3 It's Only Money
A4 Still In Love With You
A5 Frankie Carroll
B1 Showdown
B2 Banshee
B3 Philomena
B4 Sha-La-La
B5 Dear Heart

The song "Night Life" borrows the title and chorus of Willie Nelson’s 1960 song “Night Life”, but Nelson is not credited on the album.[10]
On the cassette version, the positions of "She Knows" and "Showdown" were reversed.

Like the 2014 reissue, the wrong label design is used. It should be the green / blue (spaceship / UFO) label which was introduced early 1973, not the orange one which wasn't introduce until the early 80's. The correct label design is used for Fighting and Jailbreak though.

℗ 2014 Mercury Records Limited © 2014 Mercury Records Limited.
Made in Germany