The Velvet Underground - 1969 (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €35,00
Tax included.

To honour The Velvet Underground's 50th anniversary, Grammy-winning producer Bill Levenson lovingly recreated the band's much-mythologized 'lost' album, '1969'. Gems like 'Foggy Notion', 'Ride Into the Sun' and 'I Can't Stand It' help to tell the band's enigmatic story and shine a light on their creative restlessness and rapid evolution.

180 gram vinyl with digital download code.

This vinyl reissue of The Velvet Underground's 1969 (not to be confused with 1969 Live) compiles 1969-era Velvet Underground classics, including some rare mixes, instrumentals and alternate takes on official vinyl for the first time. Lou Reed, Doug Yule, Sterling Morrison and Maureen Tucker spent much of their time on the road in ’69 resulting in the “lost” live album 1969 Live. Several original 1969 mixes from this era are featured here including “Foggy Notion,” “I’m Sticking with You,” “Andy’s Chest,” “I’m Gonna Move Right In,” and “Ocean,” as well as 2014 mixes of “One of These Days,” “Lisa Says,” and more.


We couldn't find an online review so we'll write a quick one ourselves: This 2xLP set is an essential pick-up if you are into or trying to get into the VU. A total of 20 tracks, encompassing their entire (and messy) back catalogue, in a round-a-bout kind of way. Featured are the hooky numbers: Foggy Notion, RocknRoll & Temptation Inside Your Heart and the song which Oasis shamelessly copied note-for-note on 'Whatever' (incredibly known as one of their best ever songs!!) - Ride Into The Sun (C4). You will laugh at the Gallaghers, again!

By: Corneilius Aquilani Jr. 

A1 Foggy Notion (Original 1969 Mix)
A2 One Of These Days (2014 Mix)
A3 Lisa Says (2014 Mix)
A4 I’m Sticking With You (Original 1969 Mix)
A5 Andy’s Chest (Original 1969 Mix)

B1 I Can’t Stand It (2014 Mix)
B2 She’s My Best Friend (Original 1969 Mix)
B3 We’re Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together (2014 Mix)
B4 I’m Gonna Move Right In (Original 1969 Mix)
B5 Ferryboat Bill (Original 1969 Mix)

C1 Coney Island Steeplechase (2014 Mix)
C2 Ocean (Original 1969 Mix)
C3 Rock & Roll (Original 1969 Mix)
C4 Ride Into The Sun (2014 Mix)

D1 Hey Mr. Rain (Version One)
D2 Guess I’m Falling In Love (Instrumental Version)
D3 Temptation Inside Your Heart (Original Mix)
D4 Stephanie Says (Original Mix)
D5 Hey Mr. Rain (Version Two)
D6 Beginning To See The Light (Early Version)

Sides 1-3:
Lou Reed, vocals, guitar, piano
Sterling Morrison, guitar, backing vocals
Doug Yule, bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Maureen Tucker, percussion, vocals
Side 4:
Lou Reed, vocals, guitar, piano
John Cale, vocals, electric viola, organ, bass
Sterling Morrison, guitar, backing vocals
Maureen Tucker, percussion, vocals

Backing Vocals, Guitar – Sterling Morrison
Bass, Keyboards, Backing Vocals – Doug Yule (tracks: A1 to C4)
Design – Bitton*, Vartan (4)
Lacquer Cut By – RM*
Percussion, Vocals – Maureen Tucker*
Producer – Tom Wilson (2) (tracks: D2)
Producer, Arranged By – The Velvet Underground (tracks: A1 to D1, D3 to D6)
Vocals, Guitar, Piano – Lou Reed
Vocals, Viola [Electric], Organ, Bass – John Cale (tracks: D1 to D6)