The Stone Roses - Turns Into Stone (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Turns into Stone is a compilation album by English rock band The Stone Roses, released in 1992. It consists of early singles and B-sides that did not feature on their self-titled debut album. The compilation reached number 32 on the UK album chart.

The album's release was surrounded by controversy, as the Roses were in the middle of a legal battle with their then-record label, Silvertone. An injunction prevented the band from releasing any new material for several years afterward, during which Silvertone re-released many singles, including two separate versions of "Fools Gold", and releasing stand-alone singles from the first album that were not intended to be singles (such as the edited version of "I Am the Resurrection" featuring a drum machine instead of Reni's distinctive drumming).

Despite this, the album is seen in a positive light by Roses fans because it collects the extended versions of many of their best-known non-album songs onto one CD, before a best-of compilation was even available.

The title of the album is taken from the final lines of One Love: "What goes up must come down/Turns into dust or turns into stone".

In August 2009 the album's tracks were remastered by John Leckie and included as "The B-sides" on the 20th anniversary collectors edition re-release of The Stone Roses self-titled debut album and the remastered album went on to be released separately in September 2012 by Sony Music.

Brit-pop has never been performed better than on the Stone Roses' self-titled debut album. Coming somewhere near to it, however, is this, Turns into Stone. Admittedly, Turns into Stone isn't made up of entirely original material. Rather, the album is a sort of "best of the Stone Roses' B-sides." Fortunately, these are B-sides of exceptional quality. Included in the track list is perhaps the bands finest moment, "Fools Gold." The track is driven along by Reni's domineering drumming, and Mani's understated bassline, while Squire impresses with his lead and Brown sings a rather sinister, but catchy, melody. While the album's approach has taken on a dancy edge, if you will, on the whole, Turns into Stone retains the guitar-driven musical style that dominated the Stone Roses' debut. Despite not being quite as consistent as the previously mentioned release, Turns into Stone has all the hallmarks of a great Brit-pop album, and will delight those who enjoyed the band's first release.

By: Ben Davies.

A1 Elephant Stone
A2 The Hardest Thing In The World
A3 Going Down
A4 Mersey Paradise
A5 Standing Here
A6 Where Angels Play
A7 Simone
B1 Fools Gold
B2 What The World Is Waiting For
B3 One Love
B4 Somethings Burning

2012 reissue of the 1992 album

Originally released (P) & (C) 1992 Silvertone Records Limited. This release (P) 2009 Silvertone Records Limited. (C) 2012 Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited. Silvertone Records Limited is wholly owned by Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited. Manufactured & distributed by Music On Vinyl B.V. for Sony Music Entertainment. WARNING: All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws. Made in the EU.

Barcode and Other Identifiers
Barcode: 8718469531578
Matrix / Runout (Side 1 etched, three numbers between the P and 6 are scatched through): 93760 1A MOVLP628
Matrix / Runout (Side 2 etched, three numbers between the P and 6 are scatched through): 93670 1B MOVLP628
Rights Society: BIEM/STEMRA