The Beatles - Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €44,00
Tax included.

Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band is the eighth studio album by the The Beatles. Released on 26 May 1967, it spent 27 weeks at number one on the charts in the United Kingdom and 15 weeks at number one on the Billboard Top LPs chart in the United States. It was lauded by critics for its innovations in songwriting, production and graphic design, for bridging a cultural divide between popular music and high art, and for reflecting the interests of contemporary youth and the counter-culture. Its release was a defining moment in 1960s pop culture, heralding the Summer of Love, while the album's reception achieved full cultural legitimisation for pop music and recognition for the medium as a genuine art form. 

LP pressing on gatefold 180-gram vinyl.

What could I say about Pepper's that haven't been said yet? Yes, it embraced several different music genres (oftenly in the course of the same song). Yes, it turned rock music into a recognized form of art. It started the idea of using the studio as in instrument and changed pop music. Those are all clichés, but remain true year after year, as naming Albert Einstein the most important scientist of the XXth century or The Godfather II the greatest movie ever made. Some clichés remain for a reason and the reason is: Pepper's is always in the top 10 of every single "best album list". It doesn't matter if voters are critics, musicians or just ordinary people. It's always there. Some argue it didn't age well and it's not surprising and fresh new as it was in 1967. In fact, this album may be outdated and stuck in the summer of love, but "A Day in the Life" is walking in the opposite direction: From just another fine Beatles' song (it was behind of "She's Leaving Home" in the day upon it's release) to the XXth century Magnum opus (side by side with Dylan's "Like a Rolling Stone" or The Who's "Baba O'riley").

By: Zitarrosa.

A1 Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band
A2 A Little Help From My Friends
A3 Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
A4 Getting Better
A5 Fixing A Hole
A6 She's Leaving Home 
A7 Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite!
B1 Within You Without You
B2 When I'm Sixty-Four
B3 Lovely Rita
B4 Good Morning, Good Morning
B5 Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)
B6 A Day In The Life

Catalogue Number: PCS 7027

Record Label: Parlophone Records.

Produced by: George Martin

Recorded at: Abbey Road Studios, London