Roxy Music - Avalon - Half-Speed Remaster (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €35,00
Tax included.

Avalon is the final studio album from Roxy Music. Released in 1982, it offered a smoother, more adult-oriented sound, giving us the now-iconic singles "More Than This" and "Avalon." Each Roxy Music album has been reissued with a fresh half-speed cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios, London. To reflect the audio, all eight of the Roxy Music studio albums have had their artwork revised and with a gloss-laminated finish, so that each album is not just a record - it's a piece of art.

Certainly, the lush, elegant soundscapes of Avalon are far removed from the edgy avant-pop of their early records, yet it represents another landmark in their career. With its stylish, romantic washes of synthesizers and Bryan Ferry's elegant, seductive croon, Avalon simultaneously functioned as sophisticated make-out music for yuppies and as the maturation of synth pop. Ferry was never this romantic or seductive, either with Roxy or as a solo artist, and Avalon shimmers with elegance in both its music and its lyrics....It's a rich, textured album and a graceful way to end the band's career.

By: Stephen Thomas.

A1 More Than This
A2 The Space Between
A3 Avalon
A4 India
A5 While My Heart Is Still Beating
B1 The Main Thing
B2 Take A Chance With Me
B3 To Turn You On
B4 True To Life
B5 Tara


Label: Universal Music Catalogue – ROXYLP 8, Virgin Records – ROXYLP 8, Universal Music Catalogue – 0602537848812, Virgin Records – 0602537848812
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Half-Speed Mastered
Country: Europe
Released: 2017
Genre: Rock, Pop
Style: Pop Rock, Synth-pop, Soft Rock, Art Rock