Pulp - His 'N' Hers (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €32,00
Tax included.

His 'n' Hers is the fourth studio album by English rock band Pulp, released on 18 April 1994 by Island Records. It proved to be the band's breakthrough album, reaching number nine on the UK Albums Chart,

Lyrically, the album encompasses subjects for which Pulp were to become well known, including sexual encounters, social class and voyeurism.

Robyn Strachan retrospectively describes the opener "Joyriders" as setting the tone for the album with "acerbic observation and lurking seediness and decay".

"She's a Lady" takes much of its musical inspiration from Gloria Gaynor's "I Will Survive".

The album closer, "David's Last Summer", is notable as being one of Pulp's most narrative songs, delivered entirely in spoken word apart from the chorus despite being an uptempo track.




By the time His 'n' Hers hit the shops, Pulp had been around for ten years, had released a number of good, but unsuccessful albums and had built up a cult following due to the continued support of DJs like John Peel. His 'n' Hers changed all that and, whilst not recognised as such at the time, is a seminal album not only for the band but also for that horribly titled genre; Britpop. As for myself, well I have to admit not knowing anything about the band until seeing them play a live version of "Babies" on some forgotten TV show. I went out the following day, bought this CD and the rest, as they say, is history.

Pulp revolves around Jarvis Cocker, the quintessential frontman, but that isn't to say that this is a one man show. The rest of the band seem so laid back and subdued by comparison that music journos have tended to disregard them, but Pulp are a group in the true sense of the word. Switching between guitar and keyboards, the sound is never less than perfect and the music and vocals mutually compliment each other. As for the lyrics.... songs about sexual frustration, sexual fetishes, sexual conquests and sexual joyriding(!!?) show that Cocker will still be an adolescent when he's drawing old age pension. But by some quirk of nature known only to him and maybe Peter Pan, it doesn't seem odd.

This a great album which gets better with repeated listenings.

By: Grampus.

1. "Joyriders" 3:25
2. "Lipgloss" 3:34
3. "Acrylic Afternoons" 4:09
4. "Have You Seen Her Lately?" 4:11
5. "Babies" (does not appear on the album's vinyl release) 4:04
6. "She's a Lady" 5:49
7. "Happy Endings" 4:57
8. "Do You Remember the First Time?" 4:22
9. "Pink Glove" 4:48
10. "Someone Like the Moon" 4:18
11. "David's Last Summer" 7:01

Artwork [Matching Accessories] – The Designers Republic
Artwork [Pulp Portrait From An Original Photograph By Kevin Westerberg] – Philip Castle
Bass [Fender Jazz Bass] – Steve Mackey
Drums, Percussion, Cymbal [Treated], Timpani, Performer [Fire Extinguisher] – Nick Banks
Guitar [Fender Stratocaster], Violin, Bass [Bowed] – Russell Senior
Lacquer Cut By – Greg Moore (4)
Music By – Pulp
Organ [Farfisa Compact Professional ❘❘], Synthesizer [Stylophone 350 S & Korg Trident ❘❘], Clavinet [Hohner], Piano [Steinway Grand Piano], Electric Piano [Wurlitzer & Fender Rhodes] – Candida Doyle
Photography By [Original Photograph] – Kevin Westerberg*
Producer – Ed Buller
Vocals, Guitar [Vox Marauder Guitar], Piano [School Piano], Synthesizer [EMS Synthi A], Lyrics By – Jarvis Cocker