Primal Scream - Vanishing Point (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €34,00
Tax included.

Vanishing Point is the fifth studio album by Scottish rock band Primal Scream. It was released on 7 July 1997 in the United Kingdom by Creation Records and in the United States by Reprise Records. The album shows inspiration from genres such as dub, ambient, dance music, and krautrock, as well as bands such as Motörhead, Can, and the Stooges. It was the band's first album to feature Gary 'Mani' Mounfield on bass, formerly of the Stone Roses, although Marco Nelson played bass on "Burning Wheel", "Star", "If They Move, Kill 'Em'", and "Stuka". Other guest appearances on Vanishing Point include Augustus Pablo, Glen Matlock, and the Memphis Horns.

The album was written and recorded with the aid of two portable eight-track recording studios at the band's Chalk Farm rehearsal rooms. The entire album was written and recorded in two months and mixed an additional month. On their cover of "Motorhead", Gillespie sung the first verse through a Darth Vader mask. According to an article, much of the album came from live improvisation and, "Then later on we'd layer other sounds and loops over the top, and the vocals," Gillespie said in an interview. The track "If They Move, Kill 'Em" was originally to have included a sample from Sam Peckinpah's film The Wild Bunch (the song title is one of the earliest lines of dialogue spoken in the film), but it could not be cleared in time.

Gillespie has described the album as an anarcho-syndicalist speedfreak road-movie record. It is named after and inspired by the 1971 film Vanishing Point, especially the song "Kowalski", which is meant to be an alternative soundtrack of the movie. Lead singer Bobby Gillespie said, "The music in the film is hippy music, so we thought, 'Why not record some music that really reflects the mood of the film?' It's always been a favourite of the band, we love the air of paranoia and speed- freak righteousness. It's impossible to get hold of now, which is great! It's a pure underground film, rammed with claustrophobia."



Vanishing Point is one of those milestone albums which along with Spiritualized's Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space, Radiohead's "Ok Computer and Blur's Blur killed Britpop dead and steered rock music in new direction of high-energy, computer-noise-saturated, mind blowing psychedelia. The album is so rich with all kinds of cosmic noises that it sounds more like rhythmic air raid by the aliens than run-of-the-mill rock opus. As the album is named after a cult road movie "Vanishing Point", speed is a keyword to all its content and the song "Kowalski" may well serve as the band's manifesto: "Speed means freedom of the soul. The question is not when he's gonna stop, but who is gonna stop him...". Surprisingly "Stuka" named after German dive-bomber of World War II, of all things, is a religious song: "I got Jesus in my head like a stinger, he moves from tree to tree in the back of my mind: a ragged shadowy figure" - though I can't tell what kind of religion it is. And of course there's gorgeous and galvanising tune of "Trainspotting". In short Vanishing Point has this beauty of madness feel about it that turns a usual set of songs into a piece of true art.

By: BabeNco.

A1 Burning Wheel
A2 Get Duffy
A3 Kowalski

B1 Star - Featuring – Augustus Pablo, The Memphis Horns
B2 If They Move, Kill 'Em
B3 Out Of The Void

C1 Stuka
C2 Medication
C3 Motörhead

D1 Trainspotting - Producer – Andrew Weatherall
D2 Long Life - Keyboards – Paul Harte

Record Label: Sony / Creation

Producer – Brendan Lynch
Produced by Brendan Lynch for Lynchmob productions.
Made in Holland.
Printed inner sleeves with credits.