Pink Floyd - Animals 2018 Remix (Vinyl) Remastered

  • Sale
  • Regular price €35,00
Tax included.

The tenth studio album by the English progressive rock band Pink Floyd. The album continues the longform compositions that made up their previous works, including 'Wish You Were Here' (1975). It was recorded at the band's Britannia Row Studios in London throughout 1976, and was produced by the band. Animals is both a progressive rock album and a concept album, focusing on the social-political conditions of mid-1970s Britain, and was a change from the style of their earlier work. Tension within the band during production later culminated in keyboardist Richard Wright leaving two years later. The album's cover shows an inflatable pig floating between two chimneys of Battersea Power Station, conceived by the band's bassist and lead songwriter Roger Waters, and was designed by long-time collaborator Storm Thorgerson. The band released no singles from the record, but promoted it through the In The Flesh Tour. Waters' agitation with audiences during this tour inspired their next record, The Wall.

This version is the NEW 2018 Remix LP by James Guthrie.

Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket. Includes 28-booklet. The iconic 1977 Pink Floyd album has been remixed for the first time by James Guthrie. Animals is a concept album, focusing on the social-political conditions of mid-1970s Britain, and was a change from the style of the band's earlier work. The album was developed from a collection of unrelated songs into a concept which describes the apparent social and moral decay of society, likening the human condition to that of animals. Taking inspiration from George Orwell's Animal Farm, the album depicts the different classes of people as animals with pigs being at the top of the social chain, dropping down to the sheep as the mindless herd following what they are told, with dogs as the business bosses getting fat on the money and power they hold over the other. Although it's been a long time since 1977, the narrative of the album still resonates today as our social and economic situation mirrors that of the time.



Everyone has that album, that one album they listened to one time which gave them a complete new outlook on music. For me it was this album, I was at home alone one Friday night when I was 15 and I couldn't sleep. I decided to take out a cd at random and listen to it. I put it in and this was my first "not Dark Side of the Moon" Pink Floyd album. I turned off the lights in the sitting room and lied there in the dark with "Pigs on the Wing Part 1" played on the surround sound. I was completely mesmerized by the elegance and fragility of Rodger Waters voice over the simple guitar notes. Then "Dogs" started and when the guitar riff hits at around 4 minutes in chills went all over my body. I just sat there slack jawed as the gorgeous yet some how heavy-feeling riff engulfed the room. I was very tired at this point and i was in the stage where I couldn't move my body but my mind seemed to work perfectly. This made the listening experience even better for me. Back then I would rarely listen to albums straight through but after this experience i changed the way I listened to music completely. The metaphors the album uses are very simple to understand yet seem so brilliant over the music. "Pigs (Three Different Ones)" is also brilliant but still could never reach the height of "Dogs" same goes for "Sheep". Then "Pigs on the Wing Part 2" comes on and again the beauty of that song takes hold of me again, that and Part 1 serve as amazing book-ends for the 3 "Big Songs" that make this album. This album is easily in my top 5 of all time and could be enjoyed by anybody.

By: Rory147

A1 Pigs On The Wing (Part One)
A2 Dogs
B1 Pigs (Three Different Ones)
B2 Sheep
B3 Pigs On The Wing (Part Two)

Hype sticker on shrinkwrap reads:
2018 Remix 

The stereo remixed album on heavyweight 180G vinyl.