Massive Attack - Blue Lines (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €33,00
Tax included.

Blue Lines is the debut studio album by English electronic music group Massive Attack, released on 8 April 1991 by Wild Bunch and Virgin Records. The recording was led by members Grantley "Daddy G" Marshall, Robert "3D" Del Naja, Adrian "Tricky" Thaws, and Andrew "Mushroom" Vowles, with co-production by Jonny Dollar. It also features contributions by singers Shara Nelson and Horace Andy. Generally regarded as the first "trip hop" album, Blue Lines blended elements of hip hop (such as breakbeats, sampling, and rapping) with dub, soul, reggae, and electronic music.

"We worked on Blue Lines for about eight months, with breaks for Christmas and the World Cup," said Robert "3D" Del Naja, "but we started out with a selection of ideas that were up to seven years old. Songs like 'Safe from Harm' and 'Lately' had been around for a while, from when we were The Wild Bunch, or from our time on the sound systems in Bristol. But the more we worked on them, the more we began to conceive new ideas too – like, 'Five Man Army' came together as a jam." The group also drew inspiration from concept albums in various genres by artists such as Pink Floyd, Public Image Ltd., Billy Cobham, Wally Badarou, Herbie Hancock and Isaac Hayes.

Daddy G said about the making of the album:

We were lazy Bristol twats. It was Neneh Cherry who kicked our arses and got us in the studio. We recorded a lot at her house, in her baby's room. It stank for months and eventually we found a dirty nappy behind a radiator. I was still DJing, but what we were trying to do was create dance music for the head, rather than the feet. I think it's our freshest album, we were at our strongest then.

The font used on the cover of the album is Helvetica Black Oblique. Del Naja has acknowledged the influence of the inflammable material logo used on the cover of Stiff Little Fingers' album Inflammable Material.


This is still the business if you ask me . Not as great as what was to follow with "protection" and "mezzanine" but still as good as rap and dance music filtered through british culture gets . Basically it took what soul2soul were attempting to another level entirely .

Everyone knows the shara nelson and strings of "unfinished sympathy" its an amazing record - but add in the clattering dub of "5 man army" the gorgeous deep soul of "be thankful" and horace andys sweet vocal accompanyment to "1 love" and you have a classic on your hands . And as a bonus you get tricky rapping away here and there , probably the best rapper to ever come out of england .

It's a record that will forever be connected to summer evenings for me , it was always playing at friends barbecues or while the beers were flowing . Still love it .

By: Garfieldaces.

Safe From Harm 5:18
One Love 4:46
Blue Lines 4:21
Be Thankful For What You've Got 4:08
Five Man Army 6:03
Unfinished Sympathy 5:07
Daydreaming 4:14
Lately 4:23
Hymn Of The Big Wheel 6:36

Arranged By [Additional Arrangement] – Neneh Cherry (tracks: B4)
Arranged By [Strings Arranged By], Conductor [Strings Conducted By] – Wil Malone (tracks: B1)
Artwork, Design – 3d-del Naja*, Michael-Nash*
Backing Vocals – Mikey General (tracks: B4)
Bass Guitar – Paul Johnson (11) (tracks: A3)
Engineer – Kevin Petri* (tracks: A3, A5)
Engineer [Mix Eng] – Bryan Chuck New* (tracks: A2, B3), Jeremy Allom (tracks: A1, A3, A4, A5, B1, B2, B4)
Engineer [Strings Eng] – Hayden (2) (tracks: B1)
Executive-Producer – Booga Bear
Leader – Gavin Wright* (tracks: B1)
Management – The Cherry Bear Organisation
Mixed By – Johnny Dollar*, Massive Attack
Other [Blame] – Judy
Photography By [Back Cover] – Jean Baptiste-Mondino*
Photography By [Single Faces] – Eddie Monsoon
Producer – Johnny Dollar*, Massive Attack
Written-By – A. Thaws* (tracks: A3, A5, B2), A. Vowles* (tracks: A1 to A3, A5 to B4), W. Cobham* (tracks: A1), C.J. Williams* (tracks: A2, A5), F.E. Simon* (tracks: B3), G. Marshall* (tracks: A1 to A3, A5 to B4), G. Redmond* (tracks: B3), H. Andy* (tracks: A2, B4), J. Simon* (tracks: B3), J. Sharp* (tracks: B1, B3), L. Brownlee* (tracks: B3), N. Cherry* (tracks: B4), R. Del Naja* (tracks: A1 to A3, A5 to B4), S. Nelson* (tracks: B1, B3), W. Badarou* (tracks: B2), W. de Vaughn* (tracks: A4)