Kanye West - Ye (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €33,00
Tax included.

Ye (/j/ YAY; stylized in all lowercase) is the eighth studio album by American rapper Kanye West. It was released on June 1, 2018, through GOOD Music and distributed by Def Jam Recordings. Following controversy surrounding an interview with TMZ, West re-recorded all the work on the album, with him completing it over the course of just two weeks at West Lake Ranch in Jackson Hole, Wyoming. Guest vocals from PartyNextDoor, Ty Dolla Sign, Kid Cudi, Charlie Wilson, Jeremih, and 070 Shake, among others, are included.

West produced Ye with Mike Dean, alongside numerous others. Succeeding the release of Pusha T's Daytona, the album was the second of five seven-track albums produced by West in what were referred to as the "Wyoming Sessions", which were set to be released weekly. It preceded the release of West's collaborative album with Kid Cudi, as Kids See Ghosts, titled Kids See Ghosts. The latter's release was succeeded by that of Nas' Nasir, and Teyana Taylor's K.T.S.E.. West held a listening party for Ye on May 31, 2018, which was livestreamed from Jackson Hole.

"Yikes" and "All Mine" were released as singles in the summer of 2018 in support of Ye, with a lyric video being released for the latter simultaneously with one for non-single "Violent Crimes". Both of the singles attained top 20 positions on the US Billboard Hot 100, while the album received generally favorable reviews from music critics. The majority of them drew comparisons between the latter and West's previous works, while other critics had somewhat mixed feelings towards the lyrical content. It was named as one of the best albums of 2018 by multiple publications.



A great, short, and heartfelt look into Kanye's mental illness, and relationship with his family. Looking at this album in a vacuum and ignoring the shit he's doing right now, this is the most human album Kanye has ever done, and while the tracks aren't all insanely good, it's low-key, somber, and does the job the album set off to do.

Ghost Town and Violent Crimes however, are both probably in my top 10 Kanye songs now. Two of the most emotional and incredible sounding songs Kanye has ever put out. Love these tracks.

The rest of the album is great lyrically, and though All Mine and Wouldn't Leave are sonically low points on the record, it doesn't impact the overall quality as a whole much at all. A very underrated Kanye release overall.

By: Mentalillinios

A1 I Thought About Killing You
A2 Yikes
A3 All Mine
B1 Wouldn't Leave
B2 No Mistakes
B3 Ghost Town
B4 Violent Crimes

Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Getting Out Our Dreams, Inc.
Copyright © – Getting Out Our Dreams, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Def Jam Recordings
Copyright © – Def Jam Recordings
Record Company – UMG Recordings, Inc.
Distributed By – Universal Music Distribution
Pressed By – Record Technology Incorporated – 30664
Lacquer Cut At – Sterling Sound
Advisor – Scooter Braun*
Lacquer Cut By – JN-H*