Ian Dury - Hit Me! The Best of Ian Dury (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €35,00
Tax included.

A new collection of and about national institution (and rightly so), the King Blockhead himself, Mr. Ian Dury. Give thanks. If you want one guy who pretty much sums up the late twentieth century, he's ya boi.

A brand new collection covering the entire career of the unique and incomparable Ian Dury.

+ Limited Indie shop only 2LP version is pressed on white coloured vinyl.

This collection features some of Dury’s earliest work with Kilburn & The High Roads, through a golden period of solo hits and classic recordings with the infamous Blockheads to his final studio album released in 2002, two years after his untimely passing in 2000.

The Crown Prince of Essex… the punk poet laureate… Ian Dury’s mastery of the English language and powerful performance made him an artist like no other. His wit, wisdom and showmanship are ever present here on classic tracks such as ‘Reasons To Be Cheerful, Pt 3’, ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’, ‘Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll’ …all now unofficial British anthems!

The collection also feature brand new liner notes by comedian, writer and Ian’s friend, Phill Jupitus, alongside rare and unseen photographs.


The wonderfully diverse and dirty wordsmith Ian Dury gets rightly celebrated on ‘Hit Me! The Best Of Ian Dury’. Three jam-packed discs of timeless, peacock pouting, pub rock kissed by funk basslines and lyrics so glorious you will either cry, smile or shake your head and hips in amazement. Yep, Ian Dury was that f*cking dandy. If you’re a fan this collection will be a welcome addition and for those who’ve never aurally delved any deeper than say ‘Rythm Stick’ or ‘Sex Drugs And Rock ‘N’ Roll’ then this compilation is the perfect starting point. Kicking off with the stupendous trio of ‘Sex Drugs And Rock ‘n’ Roll’, ‘Wake Up And Make Love To Me’ and the jaw-dropping wallop of ‘Sweet Gene Vincent’ should remove any lingering Dury cobwebs that may have gathered in the distant musical memory. A cantering ‘Clever Trevor’ is followed by the fairground filth on the Rum ‘n’ Ribena splashed ‘Billericay Dickie’ before tears flow as ‘My Old Man’ cradles the bruised emotions of both paternal loss and love. The foul-mouthed intro to the vein injecting ‘Plaistow Patrica’ is not one for the school run or maybe ‘PP’ should be…” oh oh”. The bruising cygnet ring punch ‘Blockheads’ remains a bullseye skewering cut of spat out pavement poetry as is the Kilburn And The High Roads ‘Pam’s Moods’. The airy ‘Upminster Kid’, ‘Rough Kids’ and the bizarrely titled ‘The Mumble Rumble And The Cocktail Rock’ keep us on the straight ‘n’ narrow. A wistful ‘Crippled With Nerves’ is drowned in the Camden canal by the cockney lingo lesson on ‘Blackmail Man’.

In these mixed-up f*cked times we need Mr Ian Dury’s vision, insight and humour more than ever before. This best-of collection is a must-have, lockdown listening essential.

By: Guy Shankland

A1 Reasons To Be Cheerful (Part 3)
A2 Hit me With Your Rhythm Stick
A3 I Want To Be Straight
A4 Billericay Dickie
A5 I'm Partial To Your Abracadabra

B1 What A Waste
B2 Inbetweenies
B3 Superman's Big Sister
B4 There Ain't Half Been Some Clever Bastards
B5 My Old Man

C1 Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll
C2 Wake Up And Make Love With Me
C3 Sweet Gene Vincent
C4 Clevor Trever
C5 This Is What We Find

D1 Mash It Up Harry
D2 Dance Little Rude Boy
D3 Rough Kids
D4 Upminster Kids
D5 Blockheads

Includes printed inner sleeves.
Barcode and Other Identifiers
Barcode: 4050538633153
Matrix / Runout (Side A, etched): 0667267-A-1
Matrix / Runout (Side B, etched): 0667267-B-1
Matrix / Runout (Side C, etched): 0667304-C-1
Matrix / Runout (Side D, etched): 0667304-D-1