Ian Brown - The Greatest (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

The Greatest is the first compilation album from British musician Ian Brown, lead singer of The Stone Roses. It was released on 12 September 2005 and covers material from his first four albums plus two new tracks, "All Ablaze" and "Return of the Fisherman". "All Ablaze" was released as a single on 5 September 2005.

Ian Brown, a True and Undeniable Musical icon, the Greatest captures all the seminal moments of Ian's career including the classic F.E.A.R., Dolphins Were Monkeys, and 2004's Keep What You Got with Noel Gallagher. 

Cheeky title, but what do you expect? This collects all his singles plus his two excellent collaborations with UNKLE. There's also three re-recorded, and far superior takes on a couple of B-sides and the gorgeous "Forever And A Day." As a romantic lover of the old '45' this is probably Ian's favourite LP that he's done. The photos and artwork are lush and the songs themselves are super-vibrant, catchy and groovy. If you only get one IB album then you better make it this. 


I love The Stone Roses and obviously went through the break-up trauma a couple of decades ago. Since then Roses fans have been scrambling for any snippets from anyone from the band - The Sea Horses is a classic example of this. Ian Brown decided to go down a more dance orientated sound and like most people brought up on his innocent vocals combined with Squire's riveting guitar work I was dubious. However upon listening to this compilation I have to admit that Brown's voice sounds as good as it ever has. Some of the tracks are definitely going to have you reaching for the replay button. My favourite tracks are FEAR (heavily featured on the Dynamo magic programmes) and Keep What You Got, on which Noel Gallagher shows what Oasis could have sounded like had the lead singer of that particular been not been such a knob (and also shows the fine line between success and failure; or Oasis and Beady Eye!). Buy this compilation - it is top cruising music!

By: Mooska

A1 –Ian Brown My Star (Album Version) 5:23
A2 –Ian Brown Corpses In Their Mouths (Album Version) 4:11
A3 –Ian Brown Can't See Me (Bacon & Quarmby Remix)
Remix – Bacon & Quarmby 3:57

B1 –UNKLE Be There -Vocals – Ian Brown 5:16
B2 –Ian Brown Love Like A Fountain (Single Version) 3:31
B3 –Ian Brown Dolphins Were Monkeys (Single Version) 2:57
B4 –Ian Brown Golden Gaze (Single Version) 3:11

C1 –Ian Brown F.E.A.R. (Album Version) 4:30
C2 –Ian Brown Whispers (Album Version) 3:56
C3 –Ian Brown Forever And A Day (The Greatest Version) 3:03
C4 –Ian Brown Keep What Ya Got (Album Version)
Featuring – Noel Gallagher 4:29
C5 –Ian Brown Time Is My Everything (Album Version) 3:53

D1 –Ian Brown Longsight M13 (Album Version) 3:12
D2 –UNKLE Reign - Vocals – Ian Brown 5:33
D3 –Ian Brown Lovebug (The Greatest Version) 3:12
D4 –Ian Brown All Ablaze (The Album Version) 4:07
D5 –Ian Brown Return Of The Fisherman (The Album Version) 4:19

Product Dimensions : 12.48 x 12.4 x 0.28 inches; 14.46 Ounces
Manufacturer : Polydor Uk
Original Release Date : 2005
Date First Available : November 11, 2009
Label : Polydor Uk
Number of discs : 2