Gorillaz - Humanz (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €44,00
Tax included.

Humanz is the fifth studio album by British virtual band Gorillaz. It was released on 28 April 2017 in the United Kingdom by Parlophone and in the United States by Warner Bros. Records. The album was announced on the band's official Instagram page on 23 March 2017. According to a press release, it was recorded in London, Paris, New York City, Chicago, and Jamaica, and was produced by The Twilite Tone and Remi Kabaka Jr. It was the band's first studio album since 2010's The Fall, and features collaborations with Jehnny Beth, Grace Jones, Kali Uchis, Vince Staples, Popcaan, D.R.A.M., Anthony Hamilton, De La Soul, Danny Brown, Kelela, Mavis Staples, Pusha T, and Benjamin Clementine.

After the release of their 2010 album The Fall, rumours began to circulate on the internet that Gorillaz creators Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett had fallen out, and that this had led to the band split; People subsequently reported this to be true. Representatives for the band denied the rumours in a statement to Pitchfork. Gorillaz released a single with James Murphy and André 3000 commissioned by Converse, titled "DoYaThing", on 23 February 2012. In April 2012, in an interview with The Guardian, Albarn stated that Gorillaz were "unlikely" to release new music, citing Hewlett's dissatisfaction that his animation had become less central to the band and their performances. In June 2013, Hewlett said that he "believe[s] there is a future for the Gorillaz. But Gorillaz is quite a complicated and expensive thing to produce. So, I think we need to wait a little bit to see what happens because usually in the music industry everything changes."


This album went a little crazy with the features, especially because they often aren't the best, and other than that nothing juts out like other Gorillaz albums, with instrumentals fading into the background on most tracks and 2D's vocals being used sparsely. The album is really front heavy, with the second half being mediocre. The highlights were Strobelite, Momentz, Andromeda, The Apprentice, and Out of Body, while the lowlights were Saturnz Barz (I dislike the vocals with the filter). Charger, I'm really neutral on Ascension, I think the chorus is super annoying but Staples has some fantastic lines. The album art is obscene, I hate the 3D, it ruins the art, it just looks awful. Overall, this is front-heavy, the instrumentals aren't really anything, about half the features are unnecessary, but it does still sound like a Gorillaz album.

By: DimDIm.

1. Intro: I Switched My Robot Off

2. Ascension (feat. Vince Staples)

3. Strobelite (feat. Peven Everett)

4. Saturnz Barz (feat. Popcaan)

5. Momentz (feat. De La Soul)

6. Interlude: The Non-conformist Oath

7. Submission (feat. Danny Brown & Kelela)

8. Charger (feat. Grace Jones)

9. Interlude: Elevator Going Up

10. Andromeda (feat. D.R.A.M.)

11. Busted and Blue

12. Interlude: Talk Radio

13. Carnival (feat. Anthony Hamilton)

14. Let Me Out (feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T)

15. Interlude: Penthouse

16. Sex Murder Party (feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz)

17. She's My Collar (feat. Kali Uchis)

18. Interlude: The Elephant

19. Halleujah Money (feat. Benjamin Clementine)

20. We Got The Power (feat. Jehnny Beth)

21. Interlude: New World

22. The Apprentice (feat. Rag‘n’Bone Man, Zebra Katz & RAY BLK)

23. Halfway To The Halfway House (feat. Peven Everett)

24. Out Of Body (feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz & Imani Vonshà)

25. Ticker Tape (feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis)

26. Circle Of Friendz (feat. Brandon Markell Holmes)

Artwork – J.C. Hewlett*
Artwork [Assistance] – LuckyMe Studio
Co-producer – Fraser T Smith
Engineer – Stephen Sedgwick
Engineer [Assistant] – Alex Baez, Casey Cuyao*, Jonathan Lackey, KT Pipal, Samuel Egglenton
Mastered By – John Davis (4)
Mixed By – Stephen Sedgwick
Producer – Damon Albarn, Remi Kabaka*, The Twilite Tone*
Written-By – Andrea Sutherland* (tracks: A4), Anthony Hamilton (tracks: C2), Benjamin Sainte-Clémentine* (tracks: D3), Damon Albarn (tracks: A2, A3, A4, A5, B2, B3, B5, B6, C2, C3, C5, D1, D3, D4), Daniel Sewell (tracks: B2), Dave Jolicoeur (tracks: A5), Grace Jones (tracks: B3), Graham Coxon (tracks: B2), Jamie Principle (tracks: C5), Jean-Michel Jarre (tracks: A5, D4), Jehnny Beth (tracks: D4), Karly Loaiza (tracks: D1), Kelela Mizanekristos (tracks: B2), Kelvin Mercer (tracks: A5), Noel Gallagher (tracks: D4), Ojay Morgan (tracks: C5), Peven Everett (tracks: A3), Shelley Massenburg-Smith (tracks: B5), Stephen Martin* (tracks: B1), Terrence Thornton (tracks: C3), Vincent Staples* (tracks: A2), Vincent Mason (tracks: A5)