Gil Scott-Heron - Free Will (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Gilbert Scott-Heron (April 1, 1949 – May 27, 2011) was an American soul, jazz, poet, musician, and author, known primarily for his work as a spoken-word performer in the 1970s and 1980s who is now widely accredited with being one of the worlds first ever rap artists.
Free Will is the second studio album released in August 1972 on Flying Dutchman Records. Recordings sessions for the album took place on March 2 and 3, 1972 at RCA Studios in NYC. It is the follow-up to Scott-Heron's critically acclaimed studio debut, Pieces of a Man (1971), and it is the second album to feature him working with keyboardist Brian Jackson. Free Will is also Scott-Heron's final studio album for Flying Dutchman.


A solid release to close out a trilogy of Gil Scott-Heron's early years.
One side of lyrically inspired jazz and blues music, the other half, angry conga driven poetry.
The music isn't necessarily mind boggling greatness, but it is effective in helping to convey the message. It was about the message…and a Bernard Purdie on drums...a musician who knew exactly how to help you deliver that message.
Gil Scott-Heron the poet…and many of his teachings apply to this very day.
Listen to "Did You Hear What They Said?", and if you have children, tell me this doesn't have you think of them and our current situation in the world.
A powerful album, and Gil Scott-Heron's greatest release in terms of totality, theme, and presentation.

By: Breakwind.z

  • A1 Free Wil
  • A2 The Middle Of Your Day
  • A3 The Get Out Of The Ghetto Blues
  • A4 Speed Kills
  • A5 Did You Hear What They Said?
  • B1 The King Alfred Plan
  • B2 No Knock
  • B3 Wiggy
  • B4 Ain't No New Thing 
  • B5 Billy Green Is Dead
  • B6 Sex Education

Catalogue Number:  HIQLP023 
Record Label: Flying Dutchman Records