Duke Ellington - Duke Ellington Presents... (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €35,00
Tax included.

Duke Ellington Presents... is an album by American pianist, composer and bandleader Duke Ellington recorded for the Bethlehem label in 1956.

This unusual set only has four Duke Ellington compositions among the 11 songs. He features a different soloist on most of the songs (which include seven standards not associated with Ellington's music). There are showcases for trumpeter Cat AndersonRay Nance (who sings and plays violin on "I Can't Get Started"), singer Jimmy Grissom, baritonist Harry Carney, and the altos of Johnny Hodges and Russell Procope, as well as two apiece for clarinetist Jimmy Hamilton and tenor saxophonist Paul Gonsalves. The closing "Blues" gives many of the players an additional opportunity to be heard. Although this set is not essential, the music is quite enjoyable and it is interesting to hear Duke Ellington playing such tunes as "Laura," "My Funny Valentine," and "Indian Summer."

- A big band classic

- Remastered on 180g black vinyl

- Recorded in Chicago, February 1956.


N/A - Brand New Release, Jan 2023.

"Summertime" (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, Dubose Heyward) - 2:13
"Laura" (Johnny Mercer, David Raksin) - 4:15
"I Can't Get Started" (Vernon Duke, Ira Gershwin) - 4:25
"My Funny Valentine" (Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers) - 4:48
"Everything But You" (Ellington, Don George, Harry James) - 2:57
"Frustration" - 3:49
"Cotton Tail" - 2:52
"Day Dream" (Ellington, John Latouche, Billy Strayhorn) - 3:39
"Deep Purple" (Peter DeRose, Mitchell Parish) - 3:36
"Indian Summer" (Al Dubin, Victor Herbert) - 3:01
"Blues" - 7:00


Duke Ellington – piano
Cat Anderson, Willie Cook, Ray Nance, Clark Terry - trumpet
Quentin Jackson, Britt Woodman - trombone
John Sanders - valve trombone
Jimmy Hamilton - clarinet, tenor saxophone
Johnny Hodges - alto saxophone
Russell Procope - alto saxophone, clarinet
Paul Gonsalves - tenor saxophone
Harry Carney - baritone saxophone
Jimmy Woode - bass
Sam Woodyard - drums
Ray Nance (track 3), Jimmy Grissom (track 5) - vocal