Dua Lipa - Dua Lipa (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Dua Lipa is the self-titled debut studio album by English singer Dua Lipa, released on 2 June 2017 through Warner Records. After finishing school in 2013, Lipa took a gap year to look for a music manager and eventually begin her career. She ultimately signed with Ben Mawson of Tap Management and began working on the album that year, to eventually get signed to Warner Bros. Records in 2015. She worked on the album until 2017, enlisting the help of many producers. Dua Lipa is primarily a dance-pop and dark-pop record, with elements of acoustic R&B, electro-funk, synth-pop and tropical house.

This 1LP format on 180g heavyweight vinyl.


Came to this after listening to Future Nostalgia. That album, once I got onto the vibe of it, quickly became my most listened album of the year- or at close to it, by July. So still, one I liked a lot. The funky bass lines, the disco and house elements, the extremely, extremely catchy energetic melodies. So I decided to go back to Dua's first album, knowing it would likely be not as good but still hoping it would be a diamond in the rough. But all of those things I listed that I liked about the second album? This one has none of them.
This is more general electropop without the nu-disco influence. And it's mid-2010s electropop which is my least favorite. In addition to that it has less bops and more ballads. She focuses on the sad, longing, crying in the club songs here, where the second album was mostly comprised of high energy bangers.
Luckily it's not a complete loss as it's saved by Dua Lipa's very strong singing voice and her natural knack for good melodies. So while it isn't my favorite of the year like Future Nostalgia, it's still something I'll end up listening to more than once, or at least the top picks of the album. I can't wait to see where she's going now though.

By: Nick212135.

A1 Genesis
A2 Lost In Your Light (Feat. Miguel)
A3 Hotter Than Hell
A4 Be The One
A5 Idgaf
A6 Blow Your Mind (Mwah)
B1 Garden
B2 No Goodbyes
B3 Thinking 'Bout You
B4 New Rules
B5 Begging
B6 Homesick

Product Code: 019295908874

Record Label: Warner