DJ Shadow - Endtroducing... (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €34,00
Tax included.

Endtroducing..... is the debut album by American music producer DJ Shadow, released on September 16, 1996 by Mo’Wax, London-based record label owned by James Lavell. It is composed almost entirely of samples, mostly from vinyl records, and features moody, slow tracks and upbeat jams reminiscent of Shadow's early hip hop influences. Shadow produced Endtroducing over two years using minimal equipment, primarily an MPC60 sampler. Mo' Wax issued four singles, including the chart hits “Midnight In A Perfect World” and “Stem”.
Endtroducing samples music including hip hop, jazz, funk, psychedelia and heavy metal, as well as films and interviews. DJ Shadow layered, programmed, and cut samples into fragments to create tracks. He opted to sample more obscure selections, making it a personal rule to avoid popular material; he said: "I've always pushed myself to use obscure things, and if I use something obvious, it's usually only to break my own rules."Samples of prominent artists such as Bjork and Metallica are, however, present throughout the record. This record is the jump-off point for anyone looking to learn more about the controversial music genre ‘Trip Hop’ or for any young hip hopper out there wanting to get into some vintage shit!


Ahhh. Man. How your view on albums can change so rapidly. When I first heard this album I appreciated it, but didn't really like it. Now I straight up love it. It took me a while to realize that it's a dedication to the art of sampling, and the creation of the elements of hip-hop without the beat or rapping. So basically it's an album with only production and drum beats, with occasional scratching. DJ Shadow was probably pissed off that people in '96 were selling out, and not making it for the music anymore, so he wanted to make an album to show all these dumb asses that hip-hop is about the art, not the cash flow. Here, you will witness an album chock full of incredibly diverse productions. The sound overall is just beautiful. It's so amazing how he layers the tracks, and constantly changes them so it isn't boring. Before I've said I didn't like instrumental hip-hop, but this album is one of the reasons that It's growing on me. There's some jazzy tracks, many tracks with awesome drum patterns that change, and every track here sounds very ambient, and atmospheric. There's a shit ton of sampling on here, and I bet you'll hear at least one of your favorite old records sampled. Now I get it. I know what this album is all about. The elements. And DJ Shadow does a damn good job showing us that instrumentals can be creative, original, and all around spectacular. I would easily consider this a classic, and I will most definitely be visiting it again. Totally recommended, and even if you're not big on hip-hop, this will help you appreciate, and maybe even come to liking it.

By; Jespon.

A1 Best Foot Forward
A2 Building Steam With a Grain of Salt
A3 The Number Song
A4 Changeling / Transmission 1
B1 What Does Your Soul Look Like (Part 4)
B2 [untitled]
B3 Stem / Long Stem / Transmission 2
C1 Mutual Slump
C2 Organ Donor
C3 Why Hip Hop Sucks in '96
C4 Midnight in a Perfect World
D1 Napalm / Scatter Brain
D2 What Does Your Soul Look Like (Part 1 - Blue Sky Revisit) / Transmission 3

Mo'Wax Records / UMC 

Includes a digital download card voucher. 

180g Heavyweight Vinyl