David Bowie - Station to Station (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Station to Station is the 10th studio album by English musician David Bowie, released on 23 January 1976 by RCA Records. Commonly regarded as one of his most significant works, Station to Station was the vehicle for his performance persona, the Thin White Duke. Co-produced by Bowie and Harry Maslin, the album was recorded at Cherokee Studios in Los Angeles, California, in the latter half of 1975 after he completed shooting Nicolas Roeg's The Man Who Fell To Earth; the  cover artwork featured a still from the film. During the sessions, Bowie was heavily dependent on drugs, especially cocaine, and later claimed that he recalled almost nothing of the production.

Musically, Station to Station was a transitional album for Bowie, developing the funk and soul music of his previous release, Young Americans, while presenting a new direction influenced by German bands such as Neu! and Kraftwerk. The album's lyrics reflected his preoccupations with Friedrich Nietzsche, Aleister Crowley, mythology and religion. Drawing on funk and krautrock, romantic balladry and occult, Station to Station has been described as "simultaneously one of Bowie's most accessible albums and his most impenetrable". Bowie himself said that Station to Station was "a plea to come back to Europe for me".

LP pressing on 180-gram vinyl.


Each half closes on its worst song, but in each case they're also welcome as changes of pace from Bowie's futuristic funk/disco concoction. "Word on a Wing" is a basic Bowie ballad, while "Wild Is the Wind" goes for (and achieves) campy excess. But the lead-up to each is some of the most brilliant record-making Bowie ever engaged in. Title cut moves through a few phases - each of them compelling - over its 10 minutes and "Golden Years" is a stone classic of his catalog. Second half kicks off with one of my top 3 Bowie tunes - the impenetrable "TVC15" and the earnest rocker "Stay" before it hits its Nina Simone camp/tribute. But it flows like an album should, moving through different moods and paced brilliantly to afford some dramatic ups and downs. More and more as I get older I'm thinking that it's more important how a record sounds while it's playing than how much you're poring over it later, and this sounds like one of his best to me.

By: nevernet.

A1 Station to Station 
A2 Golden Years
A3 Word On A Wing
B1 TVC15
B2 Stay
B3 Wild Is The Wind

Catalogue Number:  0190295990343
Record Label: Parlophone / Warner