David Bowie - ChangesOneBowie (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Changesonebowie is a compilation album by English rock musician David Bowie, issued by RCA Records in 1976. It collected songs from the 1969–1976 period, including the first LP appearance of "John, I'm Only Dancing". A "sax version" of this song, cut during the Aladdin Sane sessions in 1973, appeared on the first 1000 copies of the UK pressing (identified by the lack of the RCA logo in the upper-right corner of the cover). Later pressings of Changesonebowie featured the original version of the single that had been recorded and released in 1972. Two of the tracks, "Ziggy Stardust" and "Suffragette City", had never been released as singles when Changesonebowie was issued. The cover shot was taken by Tom Kelley, who took the famous nude calendar photographs of Marilyn Monroe on red velvet in 1949. The album was followed up by a companion compilation, Changestwobowie, in 1981.

LP pressing on gatefold 180-gram vinyl.


The first "official" Bowie greatest hits album (at least three compilations of material from his Deram years had been released before this one), Changesonebowie occupies an interesting place in history within David's discography. It hit store shelves only four months after the release of Station to Station, a complicated art rock album which had inexplicably managed to become Bowie's highest-selling album in America up to that point. Eager to capitalize on the newfound success of the Thin White Duke, RCA Records quickly collected together this recap of a record, essentially acting as a re-introduction to Ziggy Stardust for the American listeners who'd dismissed his arrival four years earlier. As such, the selection of material on Changesonebowie has a decidedly "FM Rock Radio" feel to it. The more "fey" material has been strictly limited to the mission statement of "Changes" to make room for more Mick Ronson guitar hero moments like "John, I'm Only Dancing" and "Suffragette City". In a sense, that works to the album's detriment as major Bowie classics like "Oh! You Pretty Things", "Starman" and "Life on Mars?" are M.I.A., and even the "plastic soul" so indicative of Bowie's music at the time is limited to closing trio of hit singles "Young Americans", "Fame" and "Golden Years" while highlights from the era like "1984" are nowhere to be found. Still, the record is at least an enjoyable listen, and no one would dare dispute that the majority of the songs here make up some of the finest efforts of the British Glam Rock scene. But as a primer to David Bowie's career, there's too many notable overlooked bright spots to make it a recommended introduction for the uninitiated. The eventual release of Low at the start of the following year soon made most of the album sound like a relic from a previous lifetime.

By: Remtiw.

A1 Space Oddity
A2 John, I'm Only Dancing
A3 Changes
A4 Ziggy Stardust
A5 Suffragette City
B1 Jean Geneie
B2 Diamond Dogs
B3 Rebel Rebel
B4 Young Americans
B5 Fame
B6 Golden Years

Catalogue Number: 0190295994082

Record Label: Parlophone / Warner