Various Artists - You Need This: An Introduction To Black Saint & Soul Note (1975 - 1985) (3xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €38,00
Tax included.

Following two successful volumes of ‘Journey Into Deep Jazz’ on BBE, proprietor of London’s ‘IF Music’ record store and walking musical encyclopedia Jean-Claude kicks off a new “Introduction To…” album series with this affectionate retrospective of sister labels Black Saint and Soul Note. Cited by some as Italy’s answer to Blue Note, Black Saint and Soul Note have together amassed a catalogue in excess of five hundred albums between 1975 and 2008. Founded by Giacomo Pellicciotti (producer of Enrico Rava’s seminal “Katcharpari” album), Black Saint scored a home run with it’s very first release: Billy Harper’s 1975 “Black Saint” LP, the follow-up to his much lauded “Capra Black” album on Strata-East. Following the blueprint laid down by iconic Italian jazz imprint Horo, Black Saint started life catching recording sessions with American artists as they passed through Italy on tour, as well as releasing Stateside recordings.

No Review Yet

A1 Don Pullen Feat. Sam Rivers– Joycie Girl
A2 Enrico Rava– Il Giro Del Giorno In 80 Mondi
B1 Hamiet Bluiett– Oasis
B2 John Stubblefield– Confessin'
C1 Henry Threadgill's Air*– B.K.
C2 Billy Bang Sextet– The Nagual Julian
D1 M'Boom*– Mr. Seven
E1 George Adams & Dannie Richmond– Joobubie
F1 Rava*– Verde Que Eu Te Quero Ver
F2 Archie Shepp– Down Home New York

Track F1 miscredited to "Rava String Band"; the album the track is taken from.
Barcode: 730003141515
Label Code: LC 15287