Various Artists - Malcolm X (Music From The Motion Picture Soundtrack) (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €27,00
Tax included.

Co-produced by Spike Lee and Quincy Jones, the soundtrack to Lee's 1992 film 'Malcolm X' features a number of artists contemporary to the African-American activist's movement, as well as his growing-up years, to some degree. The album features music from Lionel Hampton, Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Duke Ellington, John Coltrane, and more.

Pressed on translucent red vinyl.

Most movie soundtrack albums include incidental orchestral music, while some have excerpts of actual film dialog. The soundtrack to MALCOLM X has none of this. The set opens with an Arrested Development political piece written especially for the film, then follows a logical musical and stylistic progression from the early 40s (swing), right through to the year of Malcolm's murder, 1965 (soul), and finally closes out with an overlong 'gospelish' Aretha Franklin track.

By: Annie Van Auken

A1 Arrested Development - Revolution
A2 Joe Turner - Roll 'Em Pete
A3 Lionel Hampton - Flying Home
A4 The Ink Spots - My Prayer
A5 Billie Holiday - Big Stuff
A6 Erskine Hawkins - Don't Cry Baby
A7 Louis Jordan - Beans And Cornbread
A8 Ella Fitzgerald - Azure
B1 John Coltrane - Alabama
B2 Ray Charles - That Lucky Old Sun Just Rolls Around Heaven
B3 Duke Ellington - Arabesque Cookie
B4 Jr. Walker & The All Stars - Shotgun
B5 Aretha Franklin - Someday We’ll All Be Free


Cat No: 093624903871

Record Label : Reprise Records

Record Store Day 2019 / Limited (1500) Translucent Red Vinyl