Nas - Illmatic (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €27,00
Tax included.

'Illmatic' is the debut studio album by American rapper Nas, released in April 1994. Often cited as one of the best hip-hop albums of the '90s, 'Illmatic' is the undisputed classic upon which Nas' reputation rests. It helped spearhead the artistic renaissance of New York hip-hop in the post-Chronic era, leading a return to street aesthetics. Hip-hop fans accustomed to 73-minute opuses sometimes complain about 'Illmatic''s brevity, but even if it leaves you wanting more, it's also one of the few '90s rap albums with absolutely no wasted space. 'Illmatic' reveals a great lyricist in top form meeting great production, and it remains a perennial favorite among serious hip-hop fans.


This is one of the, if not the Greatest Hip Hop album of all time. From top to bottom, the lyrics and beats of each song have significance. This album is so dope that I don't skip the intro when I pop this in my CD player in my car. The album had hype to it because of Nas great verse on “Live at the BBQ” by Main Source on their debut album. On “New York State of Mind” Nas didn’t know who to start the track off. DJ Premier kept yelling to Nas that they were recording. So he started going like it was a freestyle. DJ Premier knew at that moment that Nas was a force to be reckoned with. “New York State of Mind” is about how life was in New York at the time. It has another great artist on the track Rakim. He is on the chorus of the song that is sampled from the song “Mahogany”. The next song features two of the best verses on the album. By AZ and Nas, but AZ is the only other artist featured on Nas album. The two Queensbridge rappers dropped classic verses. The verses are probably the best of the twos careers. “The World Is Yours” is sparked a lot of controversy when Jay-Z sampled Nas voice for his classic track “Dead Presidents”. This track is also a classic by many hip hop fans and critics. This is ranked the 7th greatest rap song of all time by “Halftime” was the first single off the album when he was known as Nasty Nas. Originally recorded for the soundtrack to the film Zebrahead, but wanted to put it on the album. This track features one on the most underrated punchlies I know. “You couldn't catch me in the streets without a ton of reefer/that’s like Malcolm X, catchin' the Jungle Fever.” Nas kept the lyrics coming on “Memory Lane” and “One Love”. The thing about “One Love” is that’s it’s a letter to one of his friends in prison. The letter includes what his baby’s mother is up to know and what she doing in the street. Also it tells what’s been happening in the street since he’s been gone. “One Time 4 Your Mind”, “Represent” and “It Aint Hard to Tell” are three great tracks that end this masterpiece. Words cant describe how great this album is but I gave it a shot. You should check it out.

By: Ballaboy_rob

40 Side North
A1 The Genesis
A2 N.Y. State Of Mind
A3 Life's A Bitch
A4 The World Is Yours
A5 Halftime
41st Side South
B1 Memory Lane (Sittin' In Da Park)
B2 One Love
B3 One Time 4 Your Mind
B4 Represent
B5 It Ain't Hard To Tell

Record Label : Columbia

Cat No: 475959 1