Supertramp - Breakfast In America (Vinyl Picture Disc)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Universal Music are proud to present the next batch of Back To Black reissues. Presented as exact reproductions of original LP artwork to retain authenticity, but now on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl. 'Breakfast in America' is the sixth studio album by the English rock band Supertramp, released in March 1979. It produced four US Billboard hit singles: 'The Logical Song' (No. 6), 'Goodbye Stranger' (No. 15), 'Take the Long Way Home' (No. 10) and 'Breakfast in America' (No. 62). At the 22nd Annual Grammy Awards in 1980, 'Breakfast in America' won two awards for Best Album Package and Best Engineered Non-Classical Recording, as well as nominations for Album of the Year and Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals.


I've heard some very odd comments regarding this album. Well actually the same could apply to many albums but this one evokes much of the same responses; in that the music is criticised because it is too song orientated or because it is "not progressive" enough!!! Likewise comments are levelled on album review sites that cater mainly for one particular genre that state "I am marking the rating down a couple of stars because it does not conform with my view of the genre"! I have always, I hope, managed to avoid falling into such pitfalls and rate an album on the music alone. In other words, do I think it is good and do I like it? Well, they are the only criteria I bring to bear on this album and for me it is Supertramp's finest. Yes, it is quite commercial. Yes, there are not many solos and it is all about the song. The arrangements are fairly conformist and it does not break any boundaries. Well, where did the rule book state that music has to push the envelope? My one doesn't.... come to that I don't really have a rule book, just a sensibility that is either touched or not.

Where the music on this album differs (or seems to) from their other albums, both pre "Breakfast" and post, is that there is a consistency that never dips for one second. I love almost every second; there are no clunky or awkward moments and no sections that make me think that things could be improved upon. It is full of memorable, punchy songs and is, to my ears, a superb achievement. If only every artist I ever liked could make just one album this homogeneous. Wonderful!

By: Crazyworldof

A1 Gone Hollywood
A2 The Logical Song
A3 Goodbye Stranger
A4 Breakfast In America
A5 Oh Darling
B1 Take The Long Way Home
B2 Lord Is It Mine
B3 Just Another Nervous Wreck
B4 Casual Conversations
B5 Child Of Vision

On cover sticker: ℗ & © 2013 A&M Records
On picture disc: ℗ & © 2013 A&M Record