Philip Lynott - The Philip Lynott Album (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €32,00
Tax included.

To mark the 40th Anniversary of it's original release, Universal Music Catalogue are reissuing Thin Lizzy singer Phil Lynott's 1982 solo album 'The Philip Lynott Album' on LP for the very first time, on limited edition white vinyl. 'The Philip Lynott Album' has been newly mastered for 180 gm vinyl at Abbey Road Studios, and is housed in an eye-catching black and gold sleeve reproducing the original artwork. Originally released in September 1982, 'The Philip Lynott Album' was the singer's second solo venture, following on from 'Solo In Soho' two years earlier. It was recorded and released between Thin Lizzy's eleventh and twelfth studio albums 'Renegade' (1981) and 'Thunder And Lightning' (1983). This 40th anniversary vinyl release adds the 1981 remix of 'Yellow Pearl'; a No. 14 hit in January '82, it was co-written with Midge Ure of Ultravox and used as the theme music for Top of the Pops between 1981 and 1986, but omitted from the original UK LP and cassette versions.


Love gone cold, Autumn's crispy leaves on Dublin suburban streets, solo train trips to lonely Co. Wicklow towns, painted in a shade of new wave oil colours that share none of the nihilistic coldness that appeared a necessity for the genre to make its point; Lynott's points here radiate outward from whatever demons (and Christ knows there were too many by now) he was facing in his lonely sleep, he being one of the few making bathos seem far from absurd while an Irish psyche decrees it to be something insane. In the midst of a broken heart or something sweet turned sour, take a southbound DART and retrace Lynott's steps, reminisce, but be thankful for the days too. Snobbery comes from masses, not the minority where foibles like these are concerned, one can picture Lynott’s south Dublin posse being as earthy and palatable as anyone else he let into his circle, and these songs echo that late season caravan of regret, all watermarked by a sophistication Lynott took to like a duck to an open lake.

By: Kildarejohn

A1 Fatalistic Attitude
A2 The Man's A Fool
A3 Old Town
A4 Cathleen
A5 Growing Up
A6 Yellow Pearl
B1 Together
B2 Little Bit Of Water
B3 Ode To Liberty (The Protest Song)
B4 Gino
B5 Don't Talk About Me Baby

Limited Edition, Reissue, White, 40th Anniversary

RSD 2022 Release