The Beatles - Abbey Road (Vinyl) Anniversary Edition

  • Sale
  • Regular price €35,00
Tax included.

This is the eleventh studio album by The Beatles, named after the location of EMI Studios in London. The cover features the group walking across the street's zebra crossing, an image that became one of the most famous and imitated in popular music. The album's initially mixed reviews were contrasted by its immediate commercial success.The new Abbey Road release features the new stereo album mix, sourced directly from the original eight-track session tapes. To produce the mix, Giles Martin working with Sam Okell, was guided by the album’s original stereo mix supervised by his father, George Martin.

LP pressing on gatefold 180-gram vinyl.

After abandoning work on Let It Be it was fitting that the band put aside some of their differences to come back to the studio one last time and produce something they could be proud of as Abbey Road is surely one of the finest albums ever recorded. The centrepiece of the album is definitely the well documented medley of side two. This was a really innovative way to take half finished songs and turn them into something useable. McCartney probably deserves most of the credit for that as the driving force behind Abbey Road. But it's not just his good work on show. George produced probably his finest pair of songs for any Beatles album with 'Something' and 'Here Comes the Sun' and Ringo even chimed in with 'Octopus's Garden'. It might lean more towards being a kiddies song but it has a certain charm, unlike 'Maxwell's Silver Hammer' which was also disturbingly portrayed as one for the kids. John's offerings were a bit heavier than previous. 'Come Together' is a winner whilst 'I Want You' might go on too long for some but I can quite easily get lost in its long repetition. On 'The End' there's a section where Paul, George and John play short guitar bursts in turn. John is third and he really makes his instrument talk like never before. And in the end the love you take is equal to the love you make. Yeah, that's an ending if I've ever heard one.

By: Muzzman

A1 Come Together
A2 Something
A3 Maxwell's Silver Hammer
A4 Oh! Darling
A5 Octopus's Garden
A6 I Want You (She's So Heavy)
B1 Here Comes The Sun
B2 Because
B3 You Never Give Me Your Money
B4 Sun King
B5 Mean Mr. Mustard
B6 Polythene Pam
B7 She Came In Through The Bathroom Window
B8 Golden Slumbers
B9 Carry That Weight
B10 The End
B11 Her Majesty

Catalogue Number: 0602577915123

Record Label: Apple Records