The Beatles - Revolver (2022 Remastered Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €38,00
Tax included.

Revolver is the seventh studio album by the Beatles. It was released on 5 August 1966. The album was the Beatles' final recording project before their retirement as live performers and marked the group's most overt use of studio technology to date, building on the advances of their late 1965 release Rubber Soul. It has since become regarded as one of the greatest and most innovative albums in the history of popular music, with recognition centred on its range of musical styles, diverse sounds, and lyrical content.

The Beatles recorded Revolver after taking a three-month break at the start of 1966, and during a period when London was feted as the era's cultural capital. Regarded by some commentators as the start of the group's psychedelic period, the songs reflect their interest in the drug LSD, Eastern philosophy and the avant-garde while addressing themes such as death and transcendence from material concerns. With no plans to reproduce their new material in concert, the band made liberal use of automatic double tracking, varispeed reversed tapes, close audio miking, and instruments outside of their standard live set-up. Among its tracks are "Tomorrow Never Knows",  incorporating heavy Indian drone and a collage of tape-loops "Eleanor Rigby", a song about loneliness featuring a string-octet as its only musical backing; and  "Love You To", a foray into Hindustani classic music. The sessions also produced a non-album single, "Paperback Writer" backed with "Rain".

New stereo mix by Giles Martin & Sam Okell pressed on 180-gram vinyl. 

I currently own the 2014 Mono, 2012 Stereo (Optimal) and have had an early press Mono UK (Italic font) and 1970's UK Stereo double EMI box.
In terms of the mix and master cut this is my favorite by far. Sounds loud and clear and retains the REVOLVER footprint of the mono without the heavy compression of the OG, however there is heavy inner groove distortion on side 1 and seems like the resin used for pressing these vinyl is a magnet for static. It played beautifully yesterday but when spun it today I was distracted by some crackling noises here and there through the whole album.

By: Mchavero

A1 Taxman
A2 Eleanor Rigby
A3 I'm Only Sleeping
A4 Love You To
A5 Here, There and Everywhere
A6 Yellow Submarine
A7 She Said She Said
B1 Good Day Sunshine
B2 And Your Bird Can Sing
B3 For No One
B4 Doctor Robert
B5 I Want To Tell You
B6 Got To Get You Into My Life
B7 Tomorrow Never Knows

Catalogue Number: PCS 7009

Record Label: Parlophone Records.

Produced by: George Martin

Recorded at: EMI Studios / Abbey Road Studios, London