Metallica - Ride The Lightning (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €35,00
Tax included.

Second studio album by the American heavy metal band, originally released in 1984. Although rooted in the thrash metal genre, the album showcased the band's musical growth and lyrical sophistication. Instead of relying heavily on fast tempos as on its debut 'Kill 'Em All', Metallica broadened its approach by employing acoustic guitars, extended instrumentals, and more complex harmonies.


Even if Ride the Lightning is cursed with lousy production, it is blessed (if that's the correct word to use here) with superb thrash metal compositions. Hetfield and Hammett's guitars coil like two venomous snakes in a fight. Hetfield's vocals still retain that essential metal falsetto that would later turn into a menacing growl on ...And Justice for All. Several of their best cuts are here, including "For Whom the Bell Tolls," "Creeping Death," the title track, and the roaring opener, "Fight Fire with Fire." The two highlights are undoubtedly "Trapped Under Ice," which is dynamic and slashing (and, sadly, prophetic regarding the fate of late bassist Cliff Burton), and "Fade to Black," which is the first Metallica track to feature acoustic guitar. "Fade to Black" begins like it belongs in that ghetto purgatory called "the power ballad," but emerges as a solid metal masterpiece mid-way through. What makes Ride the Lightning so engaging is that it emerges as the most political album you never knew was political. How can material so serious be so chockfull of head-banging fun?

Reviewed by: Yerblues

A1 Fight Fire With Fire
A2 Ride The Lightning
A3 For Whom The Bell Tolls
A4 Fade To Black
B1 Trapped Under Ice
B2 Escape
B3 Creeping Death
B4 The Call Of Ktulu


Includes insert and download code card.

Recorded and mixed at Sweet Silence Studios, Copenhagen, Denmark during spring 1984.
Remastered by Howie Weinberg at Howie Weinberg Mastering, Los Angeles, CA.
Vinyl Masters by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, Los Angeles, CA.