Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds - Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! (Vinyl LP + 12")

  • Sale
  • Regular price €35,00
Tax included.

‘Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!’ is Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds’ fourteenth studio album, and was recorded in June and July 2007 at The State of the Ark Studios in Richmond, Surrey, and mixed by Nick Launay at British Grove recording studios, in Chiswick, west London, and was released on March 3rd 2008.

It would also be the last album to feature founding member Mick Harvey, who left the Bad Seeds in 2009. In several interviews Cave has stated that this album would "sound like Grinderman", his side project, who had released their debut album a year earlier. In line with this rough-and-ready approach, the album was recorded in about five days, an uncommonly short period for a full-length album. Cave wrote on his inspiration for the album: "Ever since I can remember hearing the Lazarus story, when I was a kid, you know, back in church, I was disturbed and worried by it. Traumatised, actually. We are all, of course, in awe of the greatest of Christ's miracles—raising a man from the dead—but I couldn't help but wonder how Lazarus felt about it. As a child it gave me the creeps, to be honest. I've taken Lazarus and stuck him in New York City, in order to give the song, a hip, contemporary feel. I was also thinking about Harry Houdini who spent a lot of his life trying to debunk the spiritualists who were cashing in on the bereaved. He believed there was nothing going on beyond the grave. He was the second greatest escapologist, Harry was, Lazarus, of course, being the greatest. I wanted to create a kind of vehicle, a medium, for Houdini to speak to us if he so desires, you know, from beyond the grave."

Critical response to the album was overwhelmingly positive, with reviewers citing this as both a return to greatness and a new side of the band. A review from NME described the record as a "gothic psycho-sexual apocalypse" and gave it 8/10, whilst Mojo magazine proclaimed it their album of 2008.

Vinyl is heavyweight 180 Gram. Vinyl transfer approval overseen by Mick Harvey Summer 2014, cut at Abbey Road studios.

After the album Nocturama, a first failure (if you want to call it that) by successful 80's classic rock / post-punk artist Nick Cave, Nick needed a new direction, or at least something to help him get back on track. He had lots of practice with the double album, Abattoir Blues / The Lyre of Orpheus, but it wasn't really the comeback he needed if you ask me. A slight step up would be Dig, Lazarus, Dig, which is a completely new side of Nick Cave. The man responsible for some of the most touching heartbreak songs and scariest murder tales is doing a modern rock album almost as bouncy and flamboyant as a modern dance album. And it works. This album is a lot of fun to jam to and has some sweet Nick Cave essentials. The only flaw of the album is that if you took the best songs from Dig, Lazarus, Dig and stuck them on a Nick Cave greatest hits compilation, the bounciness would make these great tunes feel out of place when they get lumped in with the darker songs he became famous for. But other than that, it's a great album.

Reviewed By: JGuy

A1 Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!
A2 Today's Lesson
A3 Moonland
A4 Night Of The Lotus Eaters
A5 Albert Goes West
B1 We Call Upon The Author
B2 Hold On To Yourself
B3 Lie Down Here (& Be My Girl)
B4 Jesus Of The Moon
B5 Midnight Man
C More News From Nowhere


Packaged in a wide-spined sleeve.
Each LP comes in a black inner sleeve.
Includes a lyrics/credits booklet.
Some copies include an mp3 download code.