Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures (Vinyl LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €29,00
Tax included.

Unknown Pleasures is the debut studio album by English rock band Joy Division, released on 15 June 1979 by Factory Records. The album was recorded and mixed over three successive weekends at Stockport's Strawberry Studios in April 1979, and was produced by Martin Hannett who incorporated a number of unconventional production techniques into the group's sound. The cover artwork was designed by artist Peter Saville, using a data plot of signals from a radio pulsar. It is the only Joy Division album released during lead singer Ian Curtis's lifetime.

Looking at the lyric sheet for this album, I was actually taken aback by how good of a lyricist that Curtis is. Really precise language and imagery that just layers on the desperate disillusionment, but its not without glimmers of beauty and hope. It opens with what is arguably the best post-punk song ever - "Disorder" is Joy Division at their best as far as I'm concerned. The droney atmospherics coupled with pulsing drums and Curtis' deep voice make for something special. The album never surpasses the opener, but it certainly gets close. "New Dawn Fades" is more reserved at the start but at the 2 1/2 minute mark, Curtis breaks loose and the song completely envelopes you. "She's Lost Control" and "Shadowplay" are of similar quality. "I Remember Nothing" is probably my least favorite track here and they seem to go that direction more with their second album Closer, and that is probably why Unknown Pleasures is my Joy Division album of choice.

By: Father McKenzie

A1 Disorder
A2 Day Of The Lords
A3 Candidate
A4 Insight
A5 New Dawn Fades
B1 She’s Lost Control
B2 Shadowplay
B3 Wilderness
B4 Interzone
B5 I Remember Nothing


"Joy Division Unknown Pleasures
Joy Division's classic debut album
on 180gm heavyweight vinyl
Replicating original album artwork,

Textured cover.
cut from the 2007 remasters