Jamie xx - In Colour (Randomised Coloured Vinyl Special Edition)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €32,00
Tax included.

In Colour is the debut studio album by English producer Jamie xx (of The xx), released on 29 May 2015 by Young Turks. The album was composed during a five-year period while a member of the indie pop band The x, starting with his production on xx in 2009. After starting his solo career with the Gil Scott-Heron remix album We’re New Here (2011), he was intent on making the album something of a departure from his previous work and genre. The album features guest vocals from fellow The xx members Romy and Oliver Sim, as well as from Young Thug and Popcaan. The album produced five singles: "Girl" and "Sleep Sound" as a double-single on 5 May 2014, “Loud Places”, “Gosh” and "I Know There’s Gonna Be Good Times”. Smith had produced The xx’ s debut album, xx (2009), "by accident" after sessions with other producers including Diplo were unsuccessful.
The album was composed over five years, with Smith struggling to finish the music once he had started making it. Smith wanted to make an album that sounded like it did not come from any particular era. It is an electronic and dance record, blending styles of UK garage, house and rave. Smith used vocal samples from British media sources that he had encountered while away on tour. The vocal sample at the beginning of "Girl" is taken from an episode of the British drama television series Top Boy and "Gosh" features a clip from a BBC Radio 1 programme called One in the Jungle that was never aired.
This is a dazzling, fresh record which is rich, complex and thrillingly fluid. Pitchfork’s Mark Richardson Mark Richardson called it a "dazzling culmination of Jamie xx’s last six years of work, gathering up elements of everything he’s done—moody ballads, floor-filling bangers, expansive and off-kilter collaborations with vocalists—and packing them tightly into a glittering ball that reflects spinning fragments of feeling back at us.”


LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered, Randomized Colour: Orange, Purple or Green vinyl.


Five years in the making, and Jamie xx’s long anticipated debut album finally blessed our systems, compressed into a dazzlingly coloured ecstasy pill, and begging for consumption. You let it melt on your tongue, but unlike the standard superficial chemicals we are used to, this drug is abound with rich flavours which perpetually flourish into deeper realms of tropical positivity, lingering with one helluva wonderful aftertaste. And before you know it, you are back in your youth, a proud part of the British rave counterculture, except things are a little different this time. The bangers are subtle now, lighter and more minimal, yet still very danceable within their relaxed serenity and elegance—which makes for a beautiful party. One where your own mood entrances itself; where the visuals are almost too bright; where the transcendental love is always accessible; and where there’s never a come down, ever again. And this is what makes In Colour so special: that it’s bouncing a few steps ahead of the trends whilst filling in all market gaps within the electronic scene like some heavenly liquid. Furthermore, it’s better than anything he’s ever done before, which comfortably includes The xx, no question.

By: Feldup

A1 Gosh
A2 Sleep Sound
A3 Seesaw
A4 Obvs
A5 Just Saying
A6 Stranger In A Room
B1 Hold Tight
B2 Loud Places
B3 I Know There’s Gonna Be (Good Times)
B4 The Rest Is Noise
B5 Girl

On Young Turk Records. Free CD of album inside this edition. 

Die-cut sleeve (as is the way with all xx releases)