NEU! - NEU! (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $30.87
Tax included.

This is  the debut album by German krautrock band Neu!. It was released in 1972 by Brain Records. It was the first album recorded by the duo of Michael Rother and Klaus Dinger after leaving Kraftwerk in 1971. They continued to work with producer Konrad "Conny" Plank, who had also worked on the Kraftwerk recording sessions. The album is considered groundbreaking for its introduction of the futuristic "Motorik" style of drumming which would be very influential for many late 20th and early 21st century bands.

This is rather impressive stuff and I was hardly expecting to be disappointed. Who has heard "Hallogallo" and not felt the urge to groove along with the beat? I mean, the song could be improved if Fat Joe and Big Pun were around to lay some freestyles on top, but other than that you can't really go wrong with a bit of the ol' "Hallogallo".
"Weissensee" has an odd southern vibe to it. Kinda like space hillbilly music. Maybe what country will sound like in the year 3000. "Im Glück" is incredibly soothing - and the sound effects at the start made me think of those lobsters that swim around in big tanks in fancy restaurants. "Lieber Honig" is kinda odd in the vocal department, to say the least. I'm having visions of this cat/human hybrid trying to sing and gargle milk at the same time. The second half consists of more sound effects - some people messing about on the river with their boat? This album is rather epic. The exclamation mark at the end of NEU! is very much deserved. It's pronounced 'noy' BTW. But you probably already knew that. You all heard this album long before I did. I'm the guy late to the party.

By: HorseMouth

A1 Hallogallo
A2 Sonderangebot
A3 Weissensee
B1 Im Glück
B2 Negativland
B3 Lieber Honig

Recorded in December 1971 at the Windrose studios (Dumont-Time), Hamburg.
Mixed at Ralf Arnie's Star-Musik studio, Hamburg.