Scott Walker - Boy Child - The Best Of 1967 - 1970 (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €38,00
Tax included.

Originally released in 1990, Boy Child gathered the very best Scott Walker-penned solo material from his first five solo albums for Philips Records. While the original 20-track CD has gone on to become the definitive introduction to the artist’s early work, Boy Child was only available for a short time as a single vinyl LP with a truncated track list. This expanded 2LP set features the full collection with additional classics such as “Always Coming Back to You” and “30th Century Man,” “Angels of Ashes,” and the rare non-album track, “The Rope and the Colt.” The album artwork also includes the original liner notes by Marc Almond from 1990, Neil Hannon’s notes from 2000, and brand-new notes from Jarvis Cocker (which are exclusive to this edition). Pressed on 180g white vinyl.


This fine collection compiles some of the many high points scaled by Scott Walker during an astonishing period of sustained and prolific brilliance in the late 1960s. The four solo albums he produced in this period (Scott, Scott 2, Scott 3, Scott 4) may not have been imaginatively titled, but they had few other deficiencies: they were the sound of Walker, still only in his mid-20s, struggling to escape the pop star persona he had created leading The Walker Brothers, and turn himself into a serious artist. His success in these endeavours may be measured in the list of artists who have subsequently drawn on these records. Though Walker always wore his own influences on his sleeve--notably Jacques Brel, whose songs he recorded enough of to fill another compilation album--he established the template for the poetically consumptive, heroically tragic, wilfully self-pitying loner since pursued by Bryan Ferry, Marc Almond, Cathal Coughlan, The Divine Comedy's Neil Hannon, The Blue Nile's Paul Buchanan and Tom Waits, among many others. Boychild is best thought of, as it is clearly intended, as a serviceable introduction to one of the most formidable bodies of work ever assembled in the name of pop.

By: Andrew Mueller

A1 Montague Terrace (In Blue)
A2 Such A Small Love
A3 The Plague
A4 Always Coming Back To You
A5 The Amorous Humphrey Plugg
A6 The Girls From The Streets
B1 Plastic Palace People
B2 The Bridge
B3 It's Raining Today
B4 Copenhagen
B5 Big Louise
B6 30 Century Man
C1 We Came Through
C2 The Seventh Seal
C3 On Your Own Again
C4 Angels Of Ashes
C5 Boy Child
C6 The Old Man's Back Again (Dedicated To The Neo-Stalinst Regime)
D1 Prologue
D2 Little Things (That Keep Us Together)
D3 Time Operator
D4 Thanks For Chicago, Mr. James
D5 The Rope And The Colt
D6 Epilogue: The War Is Over

RSD 2022.
Gatefold cover.