Olivia Rodrigo - Sour (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €36,00
Tax included.

Sour is the debut studio album by American singer-songwriter Olivia Rodrigo. It was released on May 21, 2021, via Geffen Records. The album was written by Rodrigo and her producer Dan Nigro, recorded in isolation during the COVID-19 lockdown. Originally planned as an EP, Rodrigo expanded Sour into a full-length album following the viral success of her debut single, "Drivers License".

Influenced by Rodrigo's favorite genres and singer-songwriters, Sour is primarily a pop record that spans from energetic pop punk songs to bedroom pop ballads. Its subject matter centers on adolescence, failed romance, and heartache. She said the album explores her perils and discoveries as a 17-year-old, with its title referring to the "sour" emotions young people experience but are often criticized for, such as anger, jealousy, and unhappiness. Sour received critical acclaim upon release; reviews regarded it as a solid debut album, underscoring Rodrigo's musical versatility, realistic lyrics, and appeal to Generation Z.


Um, yeah this debut Olivia Rodrigo album is pretty decent. Olivia, before becoming a musician was and still is an actress having worked on some Disney Channel shows and other stuff, but after that she decided to break into music with the hit single "Drivers License" a classic sad love song that I wasn't and still am not crazy about. "Drivers License" just isn't very interesting for me, the minimalist production, average vocals, and lyrical content that just isn't strong enough to really hold my interest in the song. Olivia obviously had quite a bit of talent and was getting a lot of buzz for the track, so with the announcement of "SOUR' I was pretty excited. The following 2 singles were much more interesting in my opinion, "deja vu" and "good 4 u" were much more standout with their much more standout production and with the vocals being much more energetic and even containing a slight mixture of rock music.

The rest of the album is somewhat consistent with it's sound with it experimenting with it a bit at points.. The opening track "brutal" really threw me for a curve when I heard it, the loud blown out instrumental and her powerful vocals really got me excited. This sound doesn't really show up again on this album but it really shows how diverse she can be with her sound. Also, tracks like "1 step forward, 3 steps back" and "favorite crime" have similar sounds to what I disliked about some of the less interesting tracks such as "traitor" and "drivers license", but infuses it with more interesting instrumentals, vocals, and even slightly better lyrical content that feels more genuine. The rest of the tracks while they are decent, just don't stick out enough from the rest of the project to warrant me talking about them.

Overall, I really enjoyed this project with it having lots of high moments, but also containing quite a few lower points that squash my enjoyability of this record a bit. I can't wait to see where Olivia goes sonically from here and I think she has the ability to really release a fantastic following project.

Favorite Tracks: brutal, 1 step forward, 3 steps back, deja vu, jealousy, jealousy, and favorite crime
Least Favorites: traitor and drivers license

By: CrazyCrusher

A1 Brutal
A2 Traitor
A3 Drivers License
A4 1 Step Forward, 3 Steps Back
A5 Deja Vu
A6 Good 4 U
B1 Enough For You
B2 Happier
B3 Jealousy, Jealousy
B4 Favorite Crime
B5 Hope Ur Ok


Housed in a gatefold jacket.
Includes a custom inner sleeve with lyrics and credits.
All track titles are stylized to be all lowercase.