Dr. Dre - The Chronic (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €35,00
Tax included.

The Chronic is the debut studio album by American hip hop producer and rapper Dr. Dre. It was released on December 15, 1992, by his own record label Death Row Records and distributed by Interscope Records. Recording sessions for the album took place in June 1992 at Death Row Studios in Los Angeles and at Bernie Grundman Mastering in Hollywood. The album is named after a slang term for high-grade cannabis, and its cover is an homage to Zig-Zag rolling papers. It was Dr. Dre's first solo album after he had departed from hip hop group N.W.A and its label Ruthless Records over a financial dispute.


The most important record of the West Coast along with Str8 Outta Compton. I also happen to think that it is the best album of West-Coast Hip-Hop. Dre had just entered the beef with Eazy-E, and had joined with Suge Knight to found the biggest and maybe the most successfull record company of the 90s. The production here is the thing. G-Funk had been around for a while, but Dre just excelled it and brought it to worldwide attention. It's just classic. Heavy heavy drums, strings and funk. Mixed with gangsta-themed lyrics. This album is worthy for it's production the rapping is pretty forgettable, but still plays an important role. Many people criticize the rapping because of the fact that Dre's lyrics were ghostwritten and because of the themes. Who the fuck gives a shit? Dre sounds good, and the fact that the lyrics are ghostwritten doesnt matter because we all know that they were written by RBX and The D.O.C.. Dre sounds good, and that's what matters in the long run. The rapping of the guests is of course better than Dre's, and the guests also play a big role here. All the rappers are from Death Row, and we all know that this is the album that launched Snoop's career. This is Snoop's best rapping, and that's pretty sad. The lyrics mostly concern being a gangsta that's having fun, but there are also some darker tracks like "Lil Ghetto Boy", "The Day the Niggaz Took Over" and "Stranded on Death Row". Which are all excellent tracks. Then you also have that East Coast/Eazy-E diss song, which really fueled the feud which would become the biggest feud in hip-hop, even if Tim Dog was the one that started it all. But Dre had his hands in the feud too, because he made the feud grow. But really, this album is about the production. Dre created a whole new sound, and how good is the sound. This is a summer album, this is heavy, but at the same time really focused and chilled. Feel-good might be one of the words, even if the lyrics are gangsta. A real classic, you can't call yourself a hip-hop fan if you dont own this. This album is also very influental and important, because this would be the sound of the West Coast for many years.

By: Aappiinna

A1 The Chronic (Intro)
A2 Fuck Wit Dre Day (And Everybody's Celebratin')
A3 Let Me Ride
A4 The Day The Niggaz Took Over
B1 Nuthin' But A "G" Thang
B2 Deeez Nuuuts
B3 Lil' Ghetto Boy
C1 A Nigga Witta Gun
C2 Rat-Tat-Tat-Tat
C3 The $20 Sack Pyramid
C4 Lyrical Gangbang
C5 High Powered
D1 The Doctor's Office
D2 Stranded On Death Row
D3 The Roach (The Chronic Outro)
D4 Bitches Ain't Shit


Record Label : Death Row Records

Digitally remastered explicit version.