Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young - Deja Vu (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €34,00
Tax included.

The first album by the rock band Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, and the second by the trio configuration of Crosby, Stills, and Nash. Released in March of 1970, it topped the pop album chart for one week and generated three Top 40 singles: 'Teach Your Children', 'Our House', and 'Woodstock'. The album was recorded between July 1969 and January 1970 at Wally Heider's Studio C in San Francisco, and Wally Heider's Studio 3 in Hollywood. It was produced by all four members of the band. Stephen Stills estimates that the album took around 800 hours of studio time to record; this figure may be exaggerated, even though the individual tracks display meticulous attention to detail. The songs, except for "Woodstock", were recorded as individual sessions by each member, with each contributing whatever was needed that could be agreed upon. Young appears on only half of the tracks with Nash stating he "generally recorded his tracks alone in Los Angeles then brought them back to the recording studio to put our voices on, then took it away to mix it".


1970s Déjà Vu is easily the greatest album from Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young. It might be arguably the greatest Electric Folk album of all time. It's a total masterpiece, there isn't anything resembling a bad song on it. It is simply one rocking folky masterpiece after another. Déjà Vu has not one, not two, not four, but five utterly perfect songs on it, five. How many albums can claim that? Carry On, Teach Your Children, Helpless, Woodstock, and Country Girl, all without flaw. This album is a perfect snapshot of a single moment in time. The last of the youthful optimism of the 1960s giving way to the jaded cynicism of the 1970s. Déjà Vu give voice to the death of one tumultuous decade, and the birth of another. It's an utter must have for any real Rock fan.

By: DeathKarl

A1 Carry On
A2 Teach Your Children
A3 Almost Cut My Hair
A4 Helpless
A5 Woodstock
B1 Déjà Vu
B2 Our House
B3 4 + 20
Country Girl
B4.a Whiskey Boot Hill
B4.b Down, Down, Down
B4.c Country Girl (I Think You're Pretty)
B5 Everybody I Love You

Made In Germany

Gatefold, textured sleeve with gold embossed lettering. Photograph is printed on sleeve rather than pasted.

Atlantic Records
R1 7200