Mazzy Star - Seasons Of Your Day (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €30,00
Tax included.

This is the fourth album by American alternative rock band Mazzy Star. It was released on September 23, 2013 by the band's own independent record label, Rhymes of An Hour. Their first record since the release of their third album Among My Swan in 1996, and the subsequent dissolution of their contract with Capitol Records the following year, they continued recording in 1997 while without a record deal and worked sporadically until the completion of the album in September 2012. The album was recorded in several locations including California, London and Norway, and features contributions from most of the band's original members, including their late violinist Will Glenn, who died from cancer in 2001. The album also features Hope Sandoval's warm Inventions partner Colm O'ciosoig, while the late Bert Jansch performs guitar on the song "Spoon."


There had been something missing from my life for the last 17 years, I just realized it is Mazzy Star. After listening to the first three albums on heavy rotation during that time, and embracing Hope Sandoval and the Warm Inventions, I have always felt forlorn that there was not more.

But right now I am spinning Seasons Of Your Day on glorious 180 gram purple vinyl, and it is like the band has not skipped a beat. Atmospheric, but in a way that only Mazzy Star seems to be able to master. It is what we would come to expect from theses guys: sultry vocals, sparse, mixed with full arrangements, and competent song writing. It is wonderful. And the guitar interplay on Spoon (with the late Bert Jansch) is superb. You can really tell how much maturation that Hope has gone through in the last decade and a half, but that is in no way a bad thing.

What you will find on this album is much more typical of the music on She Hangs Brightly, but with a down home, almost country feel. But there is no doubt in my mind that it is well worth the purchase, just for the last two songs alone. Flying Low is a fantastic way to end the album.

By: ravager

A1 In The Kingdom
A2 California
A3 I've Gotta Stop
B1 Does Someone Have Your Baby Now ?
B2 Common Burn
B3 Seasons Of Your Day
C1 Lay Myself Down
C2 Sparrow
D1 Spoon
D2 Flying Low

Catalogue Number: Rhymes 004
Record Label: Rhymes Of An Hour