Prince - Sign 'O' The Times (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €42,00
Tax included.

Ninth studio album by the American singer/songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist. The album is the follow-up to 'Parade' (1986) and is Prince's first album following his disbanding of the Revolution. It features the singles 'Sign O' the Times', 'If I Was Your Girlfriend', 'U Got the look' and 'I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man'.


Prince promised to deliver "an album that matters," and he succeeded with this double-LP. Despite the importance intended by the album's title (and the seriousness of the eponymous song), Sign 'O' the Times shows Prince toning down the funk. That doesn't mean he shies away from sexual content and dancy numbers. Some of his best rave-ups, including "U Got the Look," "Hot Thing," "It's Gonna Be a Beautiful Night," and "Housequake," are here. Some of his best relationship songs are here, including the cross-dressing "If I Was Your Girlfriend," "It," "I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man," and "Strange Relationship." While it has been mandated that listeners must hear tracks like "The Cross" and the title track, this album is highlighted by its quiet numbers, like "The Ballad of Dorothy Parker," "Starfish and Coffee," and the album's closer, "Adore." While not as passionate or perverse as 1999, this record proves to be one of Prince's most balanced. Sadly, he has never quite lived up to its vast potential since.

By: Yerblues

A1 Sign "O" The Times
A2 Play In The Sunshine
A3 Housequake
A4 The Ballad Of Dorothy Parker
B1 It
B2 Starfish And Coffee
B3 Slow Love
B4 Hot Thing
B5 Forever In My Life
C1 U Got The Look
C2 If I Was Your Girlfriend
C3 Strange Relationship
C4 I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man
D1 The Cross
D2 It's Gonna Be A Beautiful Night
D3 Adore

Blue, heart-shaped title sticker on shrink-wrap:
Remastered for the first time
Limited edition 180 gram peach vinyl
R1 25577 / 603497846528
℗ & © 2020, 1987 NPG Records, Inc., under exclusive license to Warner Records Inc.