Black Sabbath - Never Say Die (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €33,00
Tax included.

Black Sabbath’s epic eighth studio album, presented on transparent and light blue splatter vinyl for the very first time. This record also contains a reproduction of the original Ten Year War brochure.

Often deemed one of the worst Black Sabbath albums, "Never Say Die!" (1978) shows an admixture of 70s heavy metal with prog rock, featuring keyboardist Don Airey (Deep Purple, Rainbow), who gives the affair those spacey, dare one say symphonic atmospheres at times.
Abundant highlights grace this collection, such as the opening title track, the climactic "Junior's Eyes", "Johnny Blade", "Hard Road", "Shock Wave", the intense, jazzy, and beautiful "Air Dance", and the fantastic "Over to You"... wonderful songs that, unfortunately, Tony Iommi filed under lock and key, never to play them again.

Bill Ward's drums are especially remarkable for their heavy and deep sound, besides "Geezer" Butler's groovy bass, and the integral artwork by Hipgnosis, with their habitual good taste and creativity.
The album closes with two unusual tracks, a cinematic, brass-dominated instrumental, "Breakout", segued into a sort of (anti-war?) blues rock: "Swinging the Chain".
Unfortunately after the tour (with Van Halen as opening act), Ozzy Osbourne was expulsed from Black Sabbath, though he left "Never Say Die!" as a final testament, an excellent and often maligned heavy rock LP.

By: Death_Metal_Doll

A1 Never Say Die
A2 Johnny Blade
A3 Juniors Eyes
A4 Hard Road
B1 Shock Wave
B2 Air Dance
B3 Over To You
B4 Breakout
B5 Swinging The Chain

Hype sticker: "Transparent and Light Blue Splatter Vinyl"

Includes extremely rare the ten year war brochure reproduced from the original publication