Biffy Clyro - Only Revolutions (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Only Revolutions is the fifth studio album by Scottish alternative rock band Biffy Clyro, released in 2009 on 14th Floor Records. As with its predecessor, Puzzle, the album was produced by Garth Richardson. Upon release, Only Revolutions was a critical and commercial success. It was nominated for the 2010 Mercury Prize, which is awarded annually for the best album in the UK or Ireland, and Rock Sound declared it third in its list of the 75 best albums of 2009. The album's cover was designed by Storm Thorgerson who as part of the design team 'Hipgnosis' was responsible for some of the most eye-catching record sleeves of the classic era of rock. Thorgerson said: "In thinking that the music was strong-minded yet lyrical persuaded us to think of material flapping in the wind like flags – the flags of a revolution. Not little flags or small bits of fabric, but enormous flags the size of a modest office block, which we affixed to a scaffold tower on the top of a hill on a windy day. The sound of the undulating material was affecting, let alone the bizarre shapes. The actual cover used red and blue flags to represent the sexes." The picture is clearly indebted to another of Thorgerson's works: the sleeve and video for Pink Floyd's "High Hopes".


Heading in the same more mainstream direction as Puzzle, Biffy Clyro have produced another astonishingly good album. Although the alternative weirdness that decorated earlier albums such as The Vertigo of Bliss and Infinity Land is all but gone, Biffy Clyro are still one hell of a good rock band. "That Golden Rule" and "Bubbles" are both hugely catchy rock anthems whilst Many of Horror and Mountains were smashes waiting to happen. This album grabs you straight away and once it gets a hold, you will find it is very hard to shake off. Really good listen.

By: MyFriendsInMyhead

A1 The Captain
A2 That Golden Rule
A3 Bubbles 5:01
A4 God & Satan
A5 Born On A Horse
A6 Mountains
B1 Shock Shock
B2 Many Of Horror
B3 Booooom, Blast & Ruin
B4 Cloud Of Stink
B5 Know Your Quarry
B6 Whorses

Catalogue No. 0190295985172

14th Floor Records / Warner