A Tribe Called Quest - People's Instinctive Travels And The Paths Of Rhythm (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €38,00
Tax included.

The debut studio album by the American hip hop group, originally released in April 1990. Much of the musical landscape on the album consisted of background noises such as a child crying, frogs and Hawaiian strings. The jazz, R&B and rock samples that were used were from artists most hip-hop producers ignored at the time, or who were unfamiliar with. Features the singles 'I Left My Wallet in El Segundo', 'Bonita Applebum' and 'Can I Kick It?'.



A Tribe Called Quest have created a musical masterpiece with their debut album. Their innovative productions of hard drums with jazzy samples would become the blueprint for early 90's hip hop. Every song is crafted perfectly with really flawless beats that sound so damn good. Q-Tip while not being an outstanding lyricist like G Rap or Chuck D, does get the job done with his smart & clever lyrics. He can kick some good stories and his fresh voice helps alot too. Phife Dawg doesn't get much rapping time, he's only got 2 verses on the whole album. The subject matters are never too political, it's mostly about girls and having fun. It's some feel good hip hop and Tribe are masters of that. The album is filled with outstanding songs one after the other, it's really great from start to finish with not a single weak moment. Most groups only dream of creating something half as great as this but yet Tribe have managed to out-do this album twice and also revolutionize hip hop sonically 2 other times. Without a doubt they are one of the greatest and most important hip hop groups of all-time.

By: Diction

Side 1
1 Push It Along - A Tribe Called Quest / Grover Washington, Jr.
2 Luck of Lucien - A Tribe Called Quest / Billy Brooks
3 After Hours - A Tribe Called Quest
4 Footprints - A Tribe Called Quest / Stevie Wonder / Donald Byrd
Side 2
1 I Left My Wallet in El Segundo - A Tribe Called Quest / The Chambers Brothers
2 Pubic Enemy - A Tribe Called Quest
3 Bonita Applebum - A Tribe Called Quest / Stevie Wonder / Rotary Connection
4 Can I Kick It? - A Tribe Called Quest / Lonnie Smith / Lou Reed
5 Youthful Expression - A Tribe Called Quest
Side 3
1 Rhythm (Devoted to the Art of Moving Butts) - A Tribe Called Quest
2 Mr. Muhammad - A Tribe Called Quest / Earth, Wind & Fire
3 Ham 'N' Eggs - A Tribe Called Quest / Funkadelic
4 Go Ahead In the Rain - A Tribe Called Quest
Side 4
1 Description of a Fool - A Tribe Called Quest / Roy Ayers
2 Footprints - A Tribe Called Quest feat. CeeLo Green / Stevie Wonder / Donald Byrd
3 Bonita Applebum - A Tribe Called Quest
4 Can I Kick It? - A Tribe Called Quest

25th anniversary edition with 3 bonus remixes.

Made in the EU.

Track B3 erroneously credits "Stevie Wonder" as performer but in fact the real performer is "Ramp".

Pressed By and Lacquer Cut At derived from matrix details.