Bon Iver - For Emma, Forever Ago (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

For Emma, Forever Ago is the debut studio album by American indie folk band Bon Iver. It was first self-released in July 2007, and later saw wide release on the Jagiaguwar label in February 2008. The album is principally the work of singer-songwriter Justin Vernon. Whilst living in Raleigh, North Carolina, Vernon fell ill with monoucleosis and a liver infection, and grew frustrated with his songwriting and life. He left Raleigh and drove to his father's remote hunting cabin an hour northwest of his hometown, Eau Claire, Wisconsin hoping to be alone.

The album was recorded at the cabin between late 2006 to early 2007. Vernon abandoned his old songwriting methods and instead focused on wordless melodies that he later set to words, which he felt evoked a more subconscious meaning. The record's lyrical subjects include lost love and mediocrity. His folk-infused songs include heavy choral arrangements, featuring Vernon's falsetto, and horns. He hunted his own food and spent much of his time isolated. When released, For Emma, Forever Ago received widespread acclaim from critics. 

LP repressing on 1xLP 180-gram vinyl. 

This is just gorgeous. I'm worried that i'm a bit to obsessed with it at the moment, i almost can't bring myself to listen to anything else, even the four other albums i've bought since this one. it is just so...right. justin vernon's voice is excellent, one of those sort-of-falsetto voices that is beautifully sweet, not a screeching bee gees or mika strangled cat sound, but a soft, deeply felt loveliness. standout tracks are skinny love, blindsided, creature fear, and for emma, but every note on this album is great. well worth purchasing.

By: PamBox.

A1 Flume
A2 Lump Sum
A3 Skinny Love
A4 The Wolves (Act I and II)
B1 Blindsided
B2 Creature Feat
B3 Team
B4 For Emma
B5 re: Stacks

Catalogue Number: CAD2809

Record Label: Jagjaguwar / PIAS.