Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €25,00
Tax included.

Highway 61 Revisited is the sixth studio album by American singer-songwriter Bob Dylan, released on August 30, 1965 by Columbia Records. Having until then recorded mostly acoustic music, Dylan used rock musicians as his backing band on every track of the album, except for the closing track, the 11-minute balled "Desolation Row". Critics have focused on the innovative way Dylan combined driving, blues-based music with the subtlety of poetry to create songs that captured the political and cultural chaos of contemporary America.The 1960s "started" with this album.

Leading with the hit song "Like A Rolling Stone", the album features songs that Dylan has continued to perform live over his long career. He named the album after the major American highway which connected his birthplace of Duluth, Minnesota, to southern cities famed for their musical heritage, including St.Louis, Memphis, New Orleans and the Delta Blues area of Mississippi.

This 1xLP format on 180g heavyweight vinyl.

This albums is among one of the most inspiring ever recorded to say the least. This is where freewheelin got Dylan. This is where the compelling lyrics that gave him the reputation of a protest singer up to this point had gotten him. With this album, Dylan was entering the legend: it was the year 1965. Dylan recorded one of the richest albums ever in any possible aspect. He's got both the music and the words. A song like Like a Rolling Stone is very close to being absolutely perfect, and its imperfections at around the fourth minute actually make it work all the better. Although this album was more expensive to make than the frewheelin Bob Dylan would have cost him, where Bob was there alone with a guitar and harmonica and his voice that were enough to make it sound as majestic as the London Symphony Orchestra, here he makes use, and good use at that, of organs, flutes, other guitar and whatever he can get his hands on to make the song sound excellent, and each and every one of the songs on this album actually does. Believe the hype, this is songwriting perfection.

By: SliverScreen78.

A1 Like a Rolling Stone
A2 Tombstone Blues
A3 It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train To Cry
A4 From a Buick 6
A5 Ballad Of A Thin Man
B1 Queen Jane Approximately
B2 Highway 61 Revisited
B3 Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues 
B4 Desolation Row

Product Code: 8875146301
Record Label: Columbia / Sony