Blood Orange - Angel's Pulse (Deluxe Edition Picture Disc Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Angel's Pulse is a mixtape by Dev Hynes as Blood Orange. It was released via Domino Recording Company on 12 July 2019. It is his first release since his fourth studio album Negro Swan (2018).

Ann-Derrick Gaillot of Pitchfork gave the mixtape an 8.0 out of 10, writing, "while 2016's Freetown Sound and 2018's Negro Swan are cinematic both in their production and overarching themes, Angel's Pulse, Blood Orange's shortest collection of songs, feels like scanning radio stations in a lovingly nostalgic memory straight from the '90s and early '00s."Wilf Skinner of Clash described it as "a short mix of impressionistic sketches chock-full of collabs and spanning all manner of genres."


Vinyl, LP, Deluxe Edition, Mixtape, Picture Disc. 


For some reason I wasn't huge on this record when it first dropped. I was still intoxicated off Negro Swan and its excellence, in my opinion his best. This was too simple and laid back for me; the nonchalance didn't mix well with what I had grown to appreciate from Blood Orange, then across his previous two albums.

But over time, it's dawned on me that this is the perfect spring mixtape companion to Negro Swan, and it's loaded with killer performances like Benzo, Dark & Handsome, Gold Teeth (shoutout Three6, what a wonderful collab), and Dev once again bringing out the best in Tinashe on her two appearances. As always, really, he summons angelic vocals in what's become a signature of his delicate nature in collaborating with women. It's very Prince-like, but for our time. There really isn't a dull moment on this mixtape and although it's not quite as tight as its predecessor, it's really just a nice, relaxing listen that to me has aged well a year removed from its coming.

By: SunshineinVenice

A1 I Wanna C U 1:14

A2 Something To Do 0:51

A3 Dark & Handsome
Featuring – Toro Y Moi

A4 Benzo 2:30

A5 Birmingham
Featuring – Ian Isiah, Kelsey Lu

A6 Good For You
Featuring – Justine Skye

A7 Baby Florence (Figure) 2:58

B1 Gold Teeth
Featuring – Gangsta Boo, Project Pat, Tinashe (2)

B2 Berlin
Featuring – Ian Isiah, Porches (3)

B3 Tuesday Feeling (Choose To Stay)
Featuring – Tinashe (2)

B4 Seven Hours Part 1
Featuring – BennY RevivaL

B5 Take It Back
Featuring – Arca (4), Joba (2), Justine Skye

B6 Happiness 2:09

B7 Today

Vinyl, LP, Deluxe Edition, Mixtape, Picture Disc

Comes With MP3s
Barcode and Other Identifiers
Barcode: 887828046072