Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €32,00
Tax included.

Arctic Monkeys release their sixth album in 2016, entitled Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino

The album was written by band frontman Alex Turner (originally as a side project) in 2016 on a Steinway Vertegrand piano in his Los Angeles home, and features a rich sound that embodies lounge pop, space pop, glam rock and psychedelic pop, as well as elements of jazz. It is a major departure from the band's previous guitar-heavy work, being less accessible than its internationally successful predecessor, AM (2013). It was produced in Los Angeles, Paris and London by frequent Arctic Monkeys collaborator James Ford and Turner, alongside a wide array of guest musicians including Tom Rowley, Loren Humphrey, James Righton, Zach Dawes, Tyler Parkford and Cam Avery. 

Its lyrical content draws heavily from science fiction and film, exploring consumerism, politics, religion and technology through the concept of a luxury resort on the Moon told from the perspective of various characters, such as the singer in the in-house band on "Star Treatment" or the hotel's receptionist on the title track. Turner designed the album artwork himself, which depicts the resort with cardboard cut-outs and a tape recorder. Its title refers to Tranquility Base, the site of the 1969 Apollo 11 Moon landing.

LP pressing on gatefold 180-gram vinyl. 

Though Turner may be sardonic to a fault, making it difficult to determine where the snark ends and genuine sentiment begins, the album is audacious in its conceptual conceit, challenging expectations established through the boozy nightlife anthems of the band's earlier work with an experimental approach that's contemplative and unrepentantly abstruse.

By: Slant Magazine

A1 Star Treatment
A2 One Point Perspective
A3 American Sports
A4 Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino
A5 Golden Trunks
B1 Four Out Of Five
B2 The World's First Ever Monster Truck Front Flip
B3 She Looks Like Fun
B4 Batphone
B5 The Ultracheese

Catalogue Number: WIGLP339

Record Label: Domino Records.

Produced by: James Ford & Alex Turner

Recorded at: Vox Studios, Hollywood and La Frette, Paris

Sticker on cover says "180gm Heavyweight Virgin Vinyl + Download Card