Dr. Dre - 2001 (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €37,00
Tax included.

2001 is the second studio album by  Dr. Dre. It was released on November 16, 1999, by Interscope Records as the follow-up to his 1992 debut album The Chronic. The record was produced primarily by Dr. Dre and Mel-Man, as well as Lord Finesse, and features several guest contributions from fellow rappers such as The D.O.C., Hittman, Snoop Dogg, Kurupt, Xzibit, Eminem, and Nate Dogg.  2001 exhibits an expansion on Dre’s debut G-funk sound and contains gangsta rap themes such as violence, promiscuity, drug use, street gangs, sex and crime. The album debuted at number 2 on the U.S. Billboard 200 chart, selling 550,000 copies in its first week. It produced 3 singles that attained chart success and has been certified 6× Platinum by the RIAA; as of August 2015 the album has sold 7,800,000 copies in the United States. Explicit version pressed on 2LP 180 gram black.


Wow. It's been a while since I actually listened to this. I'm glad I did, I forgot how awesome this was. Dr. Dre really struck gold with the production. The Chronic was a certified car banger, and 2001 is no different. What's even more impressive is his movement away from G-Funk with no problems at all. This seriously hits so hard. So hard... Lyrically, what do you expect? The lyrics fit perfectly, and the features for the most part are awesome. Listening to Eminem in his features compared to the legendary Recovery (sarcasm) released yesterday really annoys me. I know the Stans are drooling all over the new release, but his 2001 features blow any of Recovery out of the water. Enough of my mini rant, I forgot to mention how amazing a few of the hooks are. Devin the Dude and Nate Dogg are seriously two of the best at it. This is definitely a banger; I'm actually glad I hadn't listened to this in a few years. Back around 2000, this was in everybody's heavy rotation, and it needed the break. It made it that much more of a better experience listening again.

By: WhatIsThis

A1 Lolo (Intro)
A2 The Watcher
A3 Fuck You
A4 Still D.R.E.
A5 Big Ego's
B1 Xxplosive
B2 What's The Difference
B3 Bar One
B4 Light Speed
B5 Forgot About Dre
B6 The Next Episode
C1 Let's Get High
C2 Bitch Niggaz
C3 The Car Bomb
C4 Murder Ink.
C5 Ed-Ucation
C6 Some L.A. Niggaz
C7 Pause 4 Porno
D1 Housewife
D2 Ackrite
D3 Bang Bang
D4 The Message

Record Label : Aftermath Entertainment

2019 European reissue. The music is confirmed uncensored, and the back cover tracklist is no longer censored either.
Made in the EU