Cliff Martinez - Drive - Soundtrack (2xLP Vinyl - 10th Anniversary Special Edition)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €45,00
Tax included.

The soundtrack features original music by Cliff Martinez (The Lincoln Lawyer, Traffic) with Eurosynth-styled songs by Kavinsky & Lovefoxxx (’’Nightcall’’), The Chromatics (‘’Tick of the Clock’‘), Desire (’‘Under Your Spell’‘), College featuring Electric Youth (’‘A Real Hero’‘), and Riziero Ortolani featuring Katyna Ranieri (’‘Oh My Love’’). Rolling Stone Magazine named Drive the No. 1 movie of 2011.

This version is the 10th Anniversary Special Edition. On 2 x LP coloured discs: pink marble & blue marble.

Second (bonus) disc includes incremental interludes lifted directly from the movies' 'score'.

Pulsing, brooding and swathed in the darkest of 80's nostalgia, the Drive soundtrack is a perfect accompaniment for a film that's part David Lynch, Vangelis, Steve McQueen, Death Wish and 1987. I can't remember the last time a film relied so heavily on songs like the first five tracks on this album to communicate the mood and emotions of its central characters -- and do it so successfully. What really strikes me, though, is the sense of laconic hope in "A Real Hero" and "Under Your Spell." Those songs define Drive and haunt our characters. The remaining instrumentals (composed with a heavy nod toward Phillip Glass) are less interesting to me here than they are in the film, but they're sharp, confident pieces. Wish I could hear more from Desire and College, but I guess great entertainment should always leave you wanting more.

By: djlanda

A1 Kavinsky & Lovefoxxx - Nightcall
A2 Desire - Under Your Spell
A3 College Feat. Electric Youth - A Real Hero
A4 Riz Ortolani Feat. Katyna Ranieri - Oh My Love
B1 The Chromatics - Tick Of The Clock
B2 Cliff Martinez - Rubber Head
B3 Cliff Martinez - I Drive
B4 Cliff Martinez - He Had A Good Time
B5 Cliff Martinez - They Broke His Pelvis
B6 Cliff Martinez - Kick Your Teeth
C1 Cliff Martinez - Where's The Deluxe Version?
C2 Cliff Martinez - See You In Four
C3 Cliff Martinez - After The Chase
C4 Cliff Martinez - Hammer
D1 Cliff Martinez - Wrong Floor
D2 Cliff Martinez - Skull Crushing
D3 Cliff Martinez - My Name On A Car
D4 Cliff Martinez - On The Beach
D5 Cliff Martinez - Bride Of Deluxe


Label: Invada – LSINV264LP, Lakeshore Records – LSINV264LP
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Special Edition, Stereo, Pink Marble
Vinyl, LP, Blue Marble
Country: Europe
Released: Oct 8, 2021
Genre: Electronic, Stage & Screen
Style: Soundtrack, Electro, Score, Synth-pop, Ambient