Thin Lizzy - Johnny The Fox (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €28,00
Tax included.

Thin Lizzy were a brilliant rock band formed in Dublin, Ireland, in 1969. Two of the founding members, drummer Brian Downey and bass guitarist and lead vocalist Phil Lynott, met while still in school. Lynott led the group throughout their recording career of twelve studio albums, writing most of the material. The singles “Whiskey In The Jar” (a traditional Irish ballad) & “The Boys Are Back In Town” were international hits. After Lynott's death in 1986, various incarnations of the band emerged over the years based initially around guitarists Scott Gorham and John Sykes, though Sykes left the band in 2009. Gorham later continued with a new line-up including Downey. Lynott, Thin Lizzy's de facto leader, was composer or co-composer of almost all of the band's songs, and the first black Irishman to achieve commercial success in the field of rock music (or to play at Wembley!)

"Johnny the Fox" is their seventh studio album, released in 1976. This album was written and recorded while bassist/vocalist Phil Lynott was recovering from a bout of hepatitis that put him off the road halfway through the previous Jailbreak tour. "Don't Believe a Word" was a British hit single. Johnny the Fox was the last Thin Lizzy studio album on which guitarist Brian Robertson featured as a full member of the band, as the personality clashes between him and Lynott resulted in Robertson being sacked, reinstated, and later sacked again.

As the band argued over their musical differences, "'Johnny the Fox meets Jimmy the Weed' was really the only song that Lizzy did in a funk style…" noted Scott Gorham. "Phil Lynott was a huge fan of The O’Jays and their song “For The Love of Money”. At every soundcheck, he'd be playing that funky riff… Once we'd found that riff, we just went for it. The whole thing really took off when Brian Downey sat down and put his personal funk take on it with the drums… And these characters – Johnny the Fox and Jimmy the Weed – they were real people”.

Phil Collins of Genesis was brought in to contribute some percussion to one or more tracks, seemingly because he was a friend of Lynott's. Robertson later said, "Collins was just a mate of Phil's... I think Phil probably just wanted to get him on the album to name-drop." Neither Robertson nor Downey was able to remember which songs Collins played on.


Philip Lynott and company deliver the goods throughout Johnny The Fox. The album is a rock solid follow-up to the raging Jailbreak LP. Johnny The Fox is a loosely based concept recording, which features a number of melodic hard rock tracks. As usual, Lynott is the man in command, as he paces the Lizzy boys through each colorful track.

The twin guitar team of Brian Robertson and Scott Gorham are spot-on throughout this recording. The duo hit their stride on the raging "Massacre", as well as "Don't Believe a Word" and album opener "Johnny". Brian Downey's work on the kit deserves special mention, as his tasteful fills and ability to create a comfortable groove, packed with muscle, forms a solid back beat throughout this effort from 1976.

Lynott loosely based the colorful "Johnny" character on the life of Irish folk musician Johnny Moynihan who performed with Sweeney's Men. Johnny The Fox seamlessly joins the timelessness of stories from yesteryear - fairy tales... fables... old western yarns... ancient battles waged... and circus imagery. A true masterpiece from Lizzy, that is criminally overlooked.


By: JonFox.

A1 Johnny
A2 Rocky
A3 Borderline
A4 Don't Believe A Word
A5 Fool's Gold
B1 Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed
B2 Old Flame
B3 Massacre
B4 Sweet Marie
B5 Boogie Woogie Dance

2020 Reissue. Includes printed inner sleeve and download coupon.

℗ 2014 © 2014
Made in Germany.